Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore  (Read 468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« on: 11-May-19, 15:31:37 »

Hello, sorry for my english
I have a MSI X470 Gaming Pro Carbon up to date with a Ryzen 7 2700x.
I have always use it with Ram in Dimma2 and Dimmb2 for dual chanel?
But for about 1 week, both Dimmb1 and b2 are not working anymore. I must put my second memory in Dimma1 with a note of "not optimized" while boot.
I've tried all slots and when there is one in Dimmbx it doesn't work at all, no boot.
My motherboard is new from this evening and of course up to date(an exchange from the last same i was thinking it cames from it)
So I've checked my CPU and nothing to see, only good pins, not any problem.
I've checked my both 2 ram G.Skill 8Go Aegis and not any problem detected.
So it seems it comes from the CPU.
Anything to do to check the memory controler maybe ?
Any idea ?
Thank you
Logged

veganfanatic

  • SECOND LIEUTENANT
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 109
    • HARDCORE GAMES™

check to see there is a BIOS update, sometimes memory does not work as well as desired due to a range of factors.
Logged

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #2 on: 12-May-19, 02:06:24 »

Thank you.
BIOS is on latest version.
Memory has been checked and are ok.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #3 on: 12-May-19, 02:55:49 »

BIOS is on latest version.
Hello,
1/ I think it is not the cuprit but, before to go away, my advice is to downgrade bios. V2.80, who adds no more than "support new upcoming AMD CPU", is really buggy for current CPUs! Maybe, your problem is related. That is why I suggest is to downgrade to V2.60!
But, AMD (not MSI) refuses any downgrade from V2.80 so that M-Flash and Flashback+ cannot be used. Fortunately, the tool >>Flash tool[1.06] for MSI UEFI BIOS<< can downgrade. It has been developped by one forum's administrator, is reliable and has already saved many users.
- Keep only 1 RAM stick plugged in DIMMA2.
- Use Flash Tool with >>Bios V2.60<< (E7B78AMS.260).
After that, verify that pc starts goodly. If yes, plugg the 2nd RAM stick in DIMMA2 then do a clear CMOS and choose to use bios default values when asked:
- Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
- Keep the button on the back panel pressed during at least 20s
- Plug the power cord and power on.
- When asked, choose to use bios default values.
2/ If #1 did not resolve, it sounds like a problem on the DRAM channel B. Unplug the CPU to verify it has not bent pins (use magnifying glass). Verify also there is not thermal past on them or the socket.
Hoping it shall help,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #4 on: 12-May-19, 08:46:02 »

I've tried the test and boot with 2.6 bios but this is exatly the same problem.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #5 on: 12-May-19, 10:50:27 »

I've tried the test and boot with 2.6 bios but this is exatly the same problem.
Have you also done:
Quote
2/ If #1 did not resolve, it sounds like a problem on the DRAM channel B. Unplug the CPU to verify it has not bent pins (use magnifying glass). Verify also there is not thermal past on them or the socket.
Result?
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #6 on: 12-May-19, 11:23:28 »

Yes sorry no problem on CPU.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #7 on: 12-May-19, 11:34:17 »

:think:
1/ If you plug the 2 RAM sticks, 1 in DIMMA2 and 1 in DIMMB2, does the pc boot (at least, enter in bios setup)?
2/ Same question with DIMMA1 and DIMMB1?
3/ Same question with DIMMA2 and DMMB1?
In each case, just after to have plugged the 2 RAM sticks, do a clear CMOS:
- Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
- Keep the button on the back panel pressed during at least 20s
- Plug the power cord and power on.
- If pc start, choose to use bios default values when asked.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #8 on: 12-May-19, 13:30:57 »

The only way to boot is to have my 2 memories in slot A1 and A2.
As soon as i used B1 or B2 I don't have access to the boot.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #9 on: 12-May-19, 16:19:16 »

Hello,
So the problem on channel B is confirmed! Unfortunately, the problem is not that RAM plugged are not detected but that the pc hangs with them, so the problem seems very serious... Culprit is either CPU, with a probability of 70%, or mobo, at 30%.
1/ Is the PSU connected to CPU_PWR2 (see >>Manual<< p.38)?
- If yes, disconnect,
- If no, connect,
then retry with DIMMA2+B2 without omitting to do the clear CMOS.
2/ If #2 did not resolve, have you or can you borrow another CPU to test? If no, RMA the CPU hoping that it is the culprit!
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #10 on: 14-May-19, 12:50:02 »

Hello,
Some news. I have received today my new 2x8Go rams, the same than others.
G.Skill 16 Go DDR4-3000 Kit, Mémoire(F4-3000C16D-16GISB, Aegis) so in 2x8

So i've tried to check dual with A2 and B2 slot but this is the same problem, not any boot.
But i've tried with the 4 same memory sticks:
A1+A2=OK (boot ok and reliable, many hours on without any problem)
A1+B1=NOK
A1+A2+B1=OK (boot but don't know if it is reliable)
A1+A2+B2=OK (boot but don't know if it is reliable)
A1+A2+B1+B2=NOK
I'm waiting for the new PSU tomorrow, hoping it comes from this part after already changing the MOBO.
And i'm waiting for MOLEX i've ordered to plug CPU-POWER-2 on MOBO.
Thank you.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #11 on: 14-May-19, 15:53:45 »

A1+A2+B1=OK (boot but don't know if it is reliable)
A1+A2+B2=OK (boot but don't know if it is reliable)
I think that in these cases, pc boot but bios shows olny 2x8GB available. The stick in B1 or B1 is either recognized but not usable (hardware reserved) or even not detected.
If the PSU test is not successfull, I think you will have to do that:
Quote
2/ If #2 did not resolve, have you or can you borrow another CPU to test? If no, RMA the CPU hoping that it is the culprit!
Good luck for the next,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

darkhawk

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11928
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #12 on: 14-May-19, 17:21:25 »

If it was me....

Try booting with just 1 stick of RAM, but check that each slot works.

If any slots don't work, then...

1. Bent CPU pin
2. Bad CPU
3. Bad memory
4. Bent memory socket pin

Could be any of those. But something is causing the memory to not be able to talk to the memory controller within the CPU, so anything between the memory and the CPU (including the memory or CPU) could be the problem.

I might also suggest trying parts in a friends computer, if possible. Just to verify what part is bad.
Logged
Name            Motherboard                                CPU                                              RAM                             GPU                                            
System 1MSI GS73VR-6RFIntel i7 6700HQ16GB DDR4MSI GTX1060 6GB
ServerMSI X370 SLI PlusAMD Ryzen 5 1500X16GB DDR4MSI GTX 1070Ti Armor OC
System 3MSI Z390 GodlikeIntel i9 9900K32GB DDR4 @ 3600 MHz MSI RTX 2070 Gaming Z 8GB

t.guillemin94Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: Slots Dimmb1 et B2 not working anymore
« Reply #13 on: 15-May-19, 09:55:17 »

Hello
It looks like the bad part was the PSU.
I've recieved the new one and boot with only 2 memories in a2 and b2 and it works fine.
So i have decided to put the 2 others same memories and it starts and works fine with default value. So i have restarted it with A-XMP profile and it seems to be good too.
Hope this is the end. Thank you very much for your help !
Logged
Marked as best answer by t.guillemin94 on 15-May-19, 17:31:41

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7151
  • RBL_FR

It looks like the bad part was the PSU.
I've received the new one and boot with only 2 memories in a2 and b2 and it works fine. So i have decided to put the 2 others same memories and it starts and works fine with default value. So i have restarted it with A-XMP profile and it seems to be good too.
Good news, happy for you! :pompom:
Have a nice day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse
Pages: [1]   Go Up