Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: GS65 keyboard light color not changing after SteelSeries engine update  (Read 873 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Dear Friends,
Need you support, yesterday I have updated the SteelSeries engine to latest i.e. 3.15.1
After the update now my keyboard lights are not getting changed as per the setting.
Tried uninstalling & reinstalling SteelSeries engine. Also uninstalled the keyboard drivers & reinstalled but still same problem.
Last time after update I had same issue but that was resolved by doing something but I don't remember it.
Please help me guys.
Logged

RaiderGamer

  • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2002

if everything is working perfect on ur pc dont update things

if it aint broke dont fix it

unintall the app and then search your computer for traces and delete those

or maybe this could uninstall it better

https://www.iobit.com/en/advanceduninstaller.php
Logged
Click Here to:     Download Windows 10       Reinstall Graphics Driver       Update Bios

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Thank you for the feedback but I have tried IObit bro, same problem. please help me how to delete trace files?
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

Dear Friends,
Need you support, yesterday I have updated the SteelSeries engine to latest i.e. 3.15.1
After the update now my keyboard lights are not getting changed as per the setting.
Tried uninstalling & reinstalling SteelSeries engine. Also uninstalled the keyboard drivers & reinstalled but still same problem.
Last time after update I had same issue but that was resolved by doing something but I don't remember it.
Please help me guys.
Software writers can make fantastic software, bur generally make real crappy uninstaller s that leave remnants in C and leftover registry entries.
Just using a programs uninstaller some time just isn't enough.
Try this: https://www.ccleaner.com/
Do the same thing you did before but do a clean of C and the registry as well.
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Thank you for the support. 
But tried by using ccleaner. Registry also cleaned but same problem. 
Really frustrated now. 
Please please help.
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

Thank you for the support.
But tried by using ccleaner. Registry also cleaned but same problem.
Really frustrated now.
Please please help.
I had this as well on my GT75, somehow it corrected itself, cant remember how or what I did.
So SS is installed properly, with no errors, then its other software/firmware.
Have you done an EC reset?
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

No I have not done ec reset. How to do it? Does it has any risk?
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

No I have not done ec reset. How to do it? Does it has any risk?
1st, Is your notebook up to date in all its firmware? Bios/EC? If not, do the bios then the ec.
The correct method of resetting the bios and EC for your notebook is included in the zip folders with their download.
https://www.msi.com/Laptop/support/GS65-Stealth-Thin-8RE#down-bios
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Hi, 
I already have latest bios & ec. Should I reflash the same boss & ec?
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

Hi,
I already have latest bios & ec. Should I reflash the same boss & ec?
Check for a newer version of your BIOS through the Device Manager, EC is a manual update.
I'm inclined to say that the issue is EC (Firmware), SCM or some other software issue.
Just have to find the culprit.
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

freeyh

  • CAPTAIN
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 690

Uninstall the SteelSeries engine and delete the folder (Path: C:\Program Files\SteelSeries)
Then reinstall the SteelSeries again and make sure under SteelSeries engine can recognize your laptop's keyboard.

Besides, have your tired to install the previous version or the version list on the MSI website and see if the same issue happen?
Logged

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Hi,
I have already tried by uninstalling & deleting the folder, same issue. I have also tried 2 different previous versions still same problem. Can I directly reset Ec firmware? What is the exact procedure to only reset the EC firmware? The msi user guide doesn't provide any procedure just to reset Ec. There is a button at laptop backside for aeC reset but I am not getting exact procedure to use it.
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

Hi,
I have already tried by uninstalling & deleting the folder, same issue. I have also tried 2 different previous versions still same problem. Can I directly reset Ec firmware? What is the exact procedure to only reset the EC firmware? The msi user guide doesn't provide any procedure just to reset Ec. There is a button at laptop backside for aeC reset but I am not getting exact procedure to use it.
EC reset instructions for YOUR notebook is included in the zip folder.
Your user manual: http://download.msi.com/archive/mnu_exe/16Q2_v1.0_English.zip


Your EC zip: http://download.msi.com/archive/frm_exe/nb/16Q2EMS1.107.zip
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Thank you. Tried with EC reset but still same issue. Is it ok to re-flsah same bios & Ec as I already have latest versions.
Logged

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Tried by reflashing bios & Ec still same problem, now really worried. Please suggest.
Logged

sadanandkshatriyaTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16

Just a small software update ruined everything. Feeling really sad. I guess the link between the keyboard software & keyboard hardware is broken.
Logged

WƧI ꓵƨԍʁ Էoʁnw

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3787

Just a small software update ruined everything.
I guess the link between the keyboard software & keyboard hardware is broken.
Do you have a restore point far enough back before all this happened?
Might be a good time to take a close look at how much of C is allocated to restore points. I have 15% of 250GB OS drive set aside, All my stuff goes to D, nothing other than the OS in C.
Logged
In Canada Call MSI @ 1-888-447-6564
Mon-Fri 5:00AM-4:00AM PST (Weekend and Holiday closed)
Note: RMA, Customer Service, Technical Support
.
Global 1-800 listings https://www.msi.com/page/hot-line

nudave

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1

Following - I have a similar problem.  Updating to the newest Steelseries engine broke the keyboard back light.  What's really weird is that the function + keys still work and light up when the function key is pressed.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up