Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: No display in new build.  (Read 763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
No display in new build.
« on: 22-June-19, 23:37:54 »

I am trying to boot up my new build consisting of mobo MSI B450M PRO-M2 V2, AMD RYZEN 3 2200G AND GSKILL F4-2800C15D-8GVRB (2x4GB), but the build gives me "no display with CPU Ez-Debug LED litting up at start and then switching to DRAM one and remaining lit up". I possibly tried everything like resetting CMOS, switching and cleaning ram modules, checking the CPU for bend pins etc, but I found nothing helpful.
I think the BIOS is the problem which isn't compatible with the CPU. The mobo is manufactured in April-2019 with S.No: 601-7B84-050B1904004395. There is "MS-7B84 Ver: 2.1" written on the board and I guess it is the BIOS version. If it is the BIOS version, then it is too old as this version is not even available on the official site. The official site has BIOS versions from 4.0 onwards, v4.45 being the latest one.
Is there anyone that can help me in this matter.
Your help will be highly appreciated.
Thanks
Logged

sunscreen

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #1 on: 23-June-19, 02:09:00 »

Support for your motherboard is available from here:  https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B450M-PRO-M2-V2

Latest BIOS update is

Quote
7B84v445(Beta version)
 
 
 
Release Date
 
2019-05-27

Power off, start BIOS and check the version that you have.  On another computer, download the BIOS update for your computer.
Update your BIOS, save and reboot.
Logged

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #2 on: 23-June-19, 09:29:42 »

I appreciate your reply. But how can I update the BIOS to the latest version as there is nothing showing up at the start (no dislay). Furthermore, I don't have any alternative supported AMD CPU for the said motherboard that I can use to update the BIOS and then using my own CPU.
Is there any alternative rather than having other supported AMD CPU to update the BIOS.
Logged

Itchy_Brother

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #3 on: 23-June-19, 15:06:53 »

yeah , I received a similar (non-sense)response.....go into your back screen bios  :censored: is up here ? 
is it an AI that is responding ...?  did it even read your post ?  you said 'black screen' (same as with my z390with i-5)
I was told I had the wrong CPU ...but they misread my post - same as you ....my CPU is ok, but it seems 
the RAM is incompatable(at least I hope that is the problem) even though I had done the reasearch due diligence it would seem I got it wrong and 
I gets a black screen same as you ........ funny that huh ?
Logged

sunscreen

  • FIRST LIEUTENANT
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 428
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #4 on: 23-June-19, 17:43:34 »

Quote
no display with CPU Ez-Debug LED litting up at start and then switching to DRAM one and remaining lit up"

Your model specs has:


Quote
DDR4 Memory   
1866/ 2133/ 2400/ 2667 MHz by JEDEC, and 2667/ 2800/ 2933/ 3000/ 3066/ 3200/ 3466 MHz by A-XMP OC mode

your memory, so it exceeds the specifications without using A-XMP OC mode.
Tested Speed2800MHz
Logged

Itchy_Brother

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #5 on: 24-June-19, 03:51:07 »

hi sunscreen , 
so we put some other ram HyperX (HX424C15FBK2/8) x 2  (4stcks@4Gb)
but still gets ezdebug  white lights on RAM then on CPU and back to RAM
again (slaps forehead) ...when I looked CLOSER at support page (as I should have the first tim
I see that I do in fact need a bios update for this CPU - mine being 17B7v2.0 -  but for i-5 9400F we need 17B7vA0  
and if that is the case then how am I to flash bios from a black screen I wonder ? 
If you can help me confirm any of this , that would be a bonus ...thanks
Logged

HenryW

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21135
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #6 on: 24-June-19, 19:37:24 »

mirwaqar5, your problem is not BIOS as your CPU is supported by the 1st original BIOS (7B84v40) release. Going by your S/N you have BIOS 4.3,
Logged
Z77A-GD65/BIOS 10.5, i7 2700K
CPU cooler ~ Zalman CNPS9900ALED
Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 4x4Gb
W 7 Home Premium x64/SP1
Corsair TX650W
300GB WD VelociRaptor 3000HLHX
600GB WD VelociRaptor 6000HLHX
Lite-On CD/DVD combo burner
MSI 560 HAWK, Drv. 368.82
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

pandaz

  • CAPTAIN
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 733
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #7 on: 25-June-19, 03:13:13 »

first bios could support the cpu that you are using so as HenryW mentioned, this is not bios version issue.

Have  you tried just 1 pc of memory and tried different memory slots?
also try to test other memory to verify first..
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #8 on: 25-June-19, 04:03:10 »

I think the BIOS is the problem which isn't compatible with the CPU. The mobo is manufactured in April-2019 with S.No: 601-7B84-050B1904******. There is "MS-7B84 Ver: 2.1" written on the board and I guess it is the BIOS version
This bios is for the "B450M PRO-M2" not the "V2" (7B84 in the 2 cases). I believe you have this model; else, a bad bios is loaded! :rolleyes_anim:
First bios version (V2.00) is compatible with the Ryzen 3 2200G so V2.10 should work. Do that:
- Get the mobo ut of the box and place it on a non-conductive surface like a wooden table or the cardbox (NOT the antistatic bag).
- Keep only, CPU (+ Thermal paste + Cooler), only 1 RAM stick plugged in DIMMA2 (2nd slot from CPU) and PSU connected to ATX_PWR1 and CPU-PWR1, NOTHING ELSE. Connect the monitor to the mobo (use of the CPU built'in GPU).
- Do a clear CMOS:
  . Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
  . Either
      . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
        (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
      . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
  . Plug the power cord and power on.
  . If you have display, choose to use bios default values when asked.
Hoping it shall help,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

HenryW

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • ******
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 21135
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #9 on: 25-June-19, 13:24:17 »

here is "MS-7B84 Ver: 2.1" written on the board and I guess it is the BIOS version.

 That has nothing to do with BIOS version. It is the board version for B450M PRO-M2 V2.
B450M PRO-M2 is MS-7B84 Ver: 1.1 so nothing to do with BIOS.
Logged
Z77A-GD65/BIOS 10.5, i7 2700K
CPU cooler ~ Zalman CNPS9900ALED
Corsair Vengeance Pro 1600 4x4Gb
W 7 Home Premium x64/SP1
Corsair TX650W
300GB WD VelociRaptor 3000HLHX
600GB WD VelociRaptor 6000HLHX
Lite-On CD/DVD combo burner
MSI 560 HAWK, Drv. 368.82
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #10 on: 25-June-19, 15:43:51 »

That has nothing to do with BIOS version. It is the board version for B450M PRO-M2 V2.
B450M PRO-M2 is MS-7B84 Ver: 1.1 so nothing to do with BIOS.
Ah Ok... So it is really a "B450M PRO-M2 V2"! :bonk:
BTW, I maintain that:
Quote
Do that:
- Get the mobo ut of the box and place it on a non-conductive surface like a wooden table or the cardbox (NOT the antistatic bag).
- Keep only, CPU (+ Thermal paste + Cooler), only 1 RAM stick plugged in DIMMA2 (2nd slot from CPU) and PSU connected to ATX_PWR1 and CPU-PWR1, NOTHING ELSE. Connect the monitor to the mobo (use of the CPU built'in GPU).
- Do a clear CMOS:
  . Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
  . Either
      . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
        (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
      . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
  . Plug the power cord and power on.
  . If you have display, choose to use bios default values when asked.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #11 on: 26-June-19, 13:44:13 »

I tried RAMs one by one in every possible combination. I once tried without RAM, the DRAM Ez-Debug LED still lit up. I guess either the mobo is faulty or the processor or the ram is not compatible. I don't know, I am really confused and frustrated.
Now I am going to send these items back tomorrow and they will figure out the problem themselves.
Thank you all for your support.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #12 on: 26-June-19, 15:40:27 »

Hello,
Have you build the minimal configuration as I explained?
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #13 on: 28-June-19, 11:25:41 »

I did every possible way @rbleroy91. But nothing happened.
Today I got the mail from GSkill Support team and they told me some steps to do. I guess one person mentioned in the comments about the specifications. I guess 2800MHz comes under overclocking mode. May be it will work only when XMP profile is enabled.
Maybe it will be solved by using some lower frequency ram like 2133 or 2400 and then entering BIOS and turning ON XMP profile and then trying the GSkill 2800 MHZ ram.
I may be wrong, I don't have that much knowledge about these compatiblity matters.
BTW, I have send the whole setup to the retailer so that they can fix it themselves.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #14 on: 28-June-19, 16:07:35 »

BTW, I have send the whole setup to the retailer so that they can fix it themselves.
Ok, let us known!
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #15 on: 12-July-19, 01:47:34 »

The Retailer figured out the problem. The motherboard is faulty and they have send the same for RMA. But they told me that the motherboard will either get repaired (if possible) or replaced (if worse). But my question is how can that be fair if they repair the item and send me back. I mean why should I accept a repaired item  at first place, it never worked for me. If the motherboard had worked at the beginning and then had got defected anyhow, then repairing was the genuine option.
Can anyhow help me in this matter and tell me how to deal with this problem.

Thanks
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #16 on: 12-July-19, 01:56:59 »

Hello,
Unfortunately, I do not see another option than ask to the retailer for a refund.
Sorry,
:undecided:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

mirwaqar5Topic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #17 on: 18-July-19, 09:17:15 »

It felt very pleasing when I heard that the motherboard was fine, the only issue being the frequency not matching with the RAM. The retailer sent me the screenshots of the build with the BIOS screen on display with the info of the ram, motherboard and processsor as I mentioned in this post at start.
I hope it works well when I receive it.
I appreciate all the support I received from here.

Thank You!
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6625
  • RBL_FR
Re: No display in new build.
« Reply #18 on: 18-July-19, 16:08:27 »

It felt very pleasing when I heard that the motherboard was fine, the only issue being the frequency not matching with the RAM.
Good news, happy for you! :pompom:
Have a nice day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse
Pages: [1]   Go Up