Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?  (Read 331 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
This topic contains a post which is marked as Best Answer. Press here if you would like to see it.

sparklinglavajellyfishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8

Crucial BLS4G4D240FSB.8FBD 2x4GB
7,188 User benchmarks, average bench 80%
2 of 4 slots used
8GB DIMM DDR4 clocked @ 2133 MHz

Performing below potential (31st percentile) - ensure that a dual+ channel XMP BIOS profile is enabled
What does this mean I have enabled XMP in bios. Maybe I should update bios or what is up here? maybe the person I bought the pc from put them in the wrong sockets? please help
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7875
  • RBL_FR

Hello,
It should work if the 2 RAM sticks are bought in the same kit (box) and they are plugged in DIMMA2+B2 (2nd slot from CPU and last slot) or in DIMMA1+B1! :yes:
- Plug them in DIMMA2+B2.
- Do a clear CMOS:
  . Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
  . Either
      . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
        (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
      . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
  . Plug the power cord and power on.
  . Choose to use bios default values when asked.
- Start Windows 10 then >>CPU-Z<<. Do a screen copy of the Memory and RAM tabs (slot2 and 4 for RAM).
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

sparklinglavajellyfishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #2 on: 25-June-19, 18:01:48 »

Hello,
It should work if the 2 RAM sticks are bought in the same kit (box) and they are plugged in DIMMA2+B2 (2nd slot from CPU and last slot) or in DIMMA1+B1! :yes:
- Plug them in DIMMA2+B2.
- Do a clear CMOS:
  . Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
  . Either
      . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
        (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
      . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
  . Plug the power cord and power on.
  . Choose to use bios default values when asked.
- Start Windows 10 then >>CPU-Z<<. Do a screen copy of the Memory and RAM tabs (slot2 and 4 for RAM).
Have a good day,
:hat tip:

How does this look? I tested it before doign anything with the computer physically 
Logged

sparklinglavajellyfishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #3 on: 25-June-19, 18:03:55 »

Wait I have Windows 7 btw does that support dual channel?
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7875
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #4 on: 25-June-19, 19:00:26 »

Hello,
RAM is used in dual channel (even in Windows 7) as you have shown:

Only to fully verify, do also a screen copy of the SPD tab: slot2 and slot4. And, to finish, verify RAM stability with >>MemTest86<<: at least 2 passes of full tests.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

sparklinglavajellyfishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #5 on: 25-June-19, 19:03:49 »

Hello,
RAM is used in dual channel (even in Windows 7) as you have shown:

Only to fully verify, do also a screen copy of the SPD tab: slot2 and slot4. And, to finish, verify RAM stability with >>MemTest86<<: at least 2 passes of full tests.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged

sparklinglavajellyfishTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #6 on: 25-June-19, 19:04:47 »

Why did pcuserbencnmhark.com say it was not properly et up then ;
Logged
Marked as best answer by sparklinglavajellyfish on 25-June-19, 23:38:11

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7875
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI B150M MORTAR ARCTIC Dual CHannel Ram Not Working?
« Reply #7 on: 25-June-19, 19:11:11 »

All is good! :biggthumbsup:
Do not confound "Rank=Single" and "Channel=Double". First says that memory modules are only on one side of the stick. Second says that the 2 sticks are adressed in parallel. Be happy, all work as you can hope!
Quote
Why did pcuserbencnmhark.com say it was not properly et up then ;
I believe more in CPU-Z for specifications and in MemTest86 for stability.
If test with MemTest86 is successfull and if you are interested, enable A-XMP2 (2400MHz) and verify again.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse
Pages: [1]   Go Up