Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Advanced search    

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!  (Read 550 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8

Hello guys!

New user here. I just got the 2070 Super Ventus OC, and I of course will try to O/C to see what it can take :)

But even tho I unlocked the Voltage Control in Afterburner, the core voltage slider is still greyed out, so I cant boost the Core Voltage.
I tried several versions of AF, both regular and Beta. It's all the same. Found it funny as this is an MSI GPU, it should work perfectly right ?
Have never happened to me before, and I just cant belive MSI locked the voltage control or is it that bad?

Best Regards
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #1 on: 18-July-19, 10:47:19 »

try press CTRL+F from afterburner
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #2 on: 19-July-19, 05:48:33 »

Hi and thanks for the answer!

I did it but it just opens the Scanner, what im I suppose to see there?
The Volt control, still is greyed out - locked!

BTW, I run the O/C scanner and test. The Voltage dident change. Somethings must be wrong. Cant belive MSI locked the core voltage, right ?
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #3 on: 20-July-19, 08:09:01 »

Can you show a screenshot?
Which afterburner version you use too?
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #4 on: 20-July-19, 08:21:02 »

Hi again!

I use the latest, and have tried several versions and Beta's. It doesent matter. And right here you can see I unlocked the Voltage control in settings. It's still greyed out.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #5 on: 20-July-19, 08:23:13 »

no, as i said press CTRL+F
then you can change the voltage from there
what you are showing is a normal.
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #6 on: 20-July-19, 14:02:09 »

You must be joking, as there is nothing normal with a locked/greyed out Voltage Slider. I have used AF for all other GPU's without any problem. What you suggest is just, that it opens up the Oc Scanner. There is nothing one can change there - manually!
This is driving me nuts. :censored: are MSI up to. I will return this and get another card from Gigabyte or Asus!
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #7 on: 20-July-19, 14:10:23 »

for modern card generation(1xxx and above) this voltage slider has no meaning
instead you have to use voltage/freq. curve editor [that can be opened with CTRL+F]
and from there to set to desire voltage or to lock it to constant voltage
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #8 on: 20-July-19, 17:50:10 »

How come one can O/C better when up the Voltage. Of course the answer is; you get more Voltage. Everyone knows that. Dont know what you info comes from there!

And no, I cant do anything with the curve after you suggestion - cant change anything manually in the curve. So tell me; how can I set the desire voltage, when impossibe to even change the curve ?

Annyway, thanks for trying Svet. Appreciated :)
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #9 on: 22-July-19, 06:53:14 »

Quote
And no, I cant do anything with the curve after you suggestion - cant change anything manually in the curve. So tell me; how can I set the desire voltage, when impossibe to even change the curve ?

because of this I asked you to show me the screenshot of what you can't change
but you showed me the wrong screenshots
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #10 on: 22-July-19, 07:00:13 »

Hello again!

Sorry Svet, but I may have jump to conclusion. As I did a new clean install of AF I actually now can change the curve in O/C scanner. But the v-core voltage still is greyed out. But as you say; that dont matter as the voltage slider dont have any meaning any longer. Can you please tell me more about it ?

Best regards!
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73022
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #11 on: 22-July-19, 07:03:41 »

Quote
Sorry Svet, but I may have jump to conclusion. As I did a new clean install of AF I actually now can change the curve in O/C scanner. 

oks


Quote
 But the v-core voltage still is greyed out. But as you say; that dont matter as the voltage slider dont have any meaning any longer. Can you please tell me more about it ?

this is intended for older generations GPUs only, for offset voltage control
modern GPUs do not use that way anymore to control the voltage, but a different one.
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #12 on: 22-July-19, 08:20:06 »

Alright. good to know. Will read up on it - interesting :)

Btw, do you know if the new - MSI 2070 SUPER Gaming X Trio is able to change Bios so one can give it more juice (POWER LIMITED)  or is it a bug maybe ?

I was thinking about return this card as it's very load and runs superhot, and buy the X Trio insteed, as it seems like an awesome card. The most silent he has ever heard!
Im just a little worried about the Power Limit tho. Maybe you can check this out, and lay my fear to rest :)

And thanks again for your answer Svet!

Quote!
"Unfortunately, MSI did not increase their card's board power limit. It sits at the exact same 215 W as the Founders Edition. This of course costs potential performance for the overclock out of the box, which ASUS handled better today. In what looks like a BIOS bug, the maximum manual adjustment limit for power is lower than with the FE (240 W vs. 260 W). I'm sure MSI will fix this through a BIOS update in no time."

https://www.techpowerup.com/review/msi-geforce-rtx-2070-super-gaming-x-trio/34.html
Logged

xy.nejmanTopic starter

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: 2070 Super Ventus OC - can't unlock voltage in AF!
« Reply #13 on: 22-July-19, 17:23:01 »

FYI: MSI just unlocked the Core Voltage in the new AF Beta 2. So no more greyed out here ;)
It seems it affected all new Super cards. But right now Order is restored!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up