Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue  (Read 604 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« on: 20-July-19, 07:05:16 »

So here goes.

I've never gone to more than 16GB of RAM. And yes for the longest time, I never used slots 1 & 2. In short, I never got to use the dual-channel feature of my board.

So now I tried. And I've seen this in the forums a lot so I was a little sad because it feels like it will never be solved or it may just be my mobo.

PROBLEM: Any single or 2 sticks of RAM I place on slots 1 & 2 keeps my PC rebooting infinitely. Single RAM works fine on either or both of slots 3 & 4.
WHAT I'VE TRIED (based on what I got here too):
1) Checked the bent pins of my CPU socket: none.
2) Tried different RAM sticks: no change
3) Lowered frequency to 1333 via BIOS: no change
4) Updated BIOS to 2.13 (official from site) then cleared CMOS: no change

RAM: Crucial 1600 1.35V (I am currently in single channel mode for both sticks)
PROCIE: I7-2700K

Could you point me to either the answer that's been done similar to my case or if there are steps I can still do to make it work.
Please do note that I am not very technical but with enough instructions, I may be able to figure it out.

Thanks in advance!
Logged
Marked as best answer by crying.silence on 23-July-19, 15:34:28

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8444
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #1 on: 20-July-19, 07:17:10 »

if your CPU socket is good and your RAM works if its been there with no RAM in the slots 3 and 4 for a long time its very likely that the slots are dirty inside them so if you can get a hold of a Can of Compressed air and give each of them 2 slots a good blast of air along its whole length and then see if you can get it to post?

if the above fails then more then likely you will need to try this:

if you have access to any high % isopropyl alcohol give the bottom of your CPU a clean across its pads as it is possible some of the pins if you accidentally touched them that there is a thin film of oil over some pads making them not make a good electrical contact?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #2 on: 20-July-19, 07:21:20 »

Hello,
Unfortunately, it sounds like a mobo with DIMM slots problem (probability 40%) or a CPU with a bad controller (60%)! :undecided: 
Plug only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2 (2nd DIMM slot from CPU) and do a clear CMOS:
- Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
- Either
    . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
      (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
    . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
- Plug the power cord and power on.
- Choose to use default values when asked.
If problem remains, try with another CPU should help to diagnose.
Hoping it shall help,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #3 on: 20-July-19, 11:25:20 »

if your CPU socket is good and your RAM works if its been there with no RAM in the slots 3 and 4 for a long time its very likely that the slots are dirty inside them so if you can get a hold of a Can of Compressed air and give each of them 2 slots a good blast of air along its whole length and then see if you can get it to post?

if the above fails then more then likely you will need to try this:

if you have access to any high % isopropyl alcohol give the bottom of your CPU a clean across its pads as it is possible some of the pins if you accidentally touched them that there is a thin film of oil over some pads making them not make a good electrical contact?

when you say bottom of your CPU, this is the actual procie right? :) sorry if i sounded stupid with that question. but i will try step 1 first since step 2 is kinda tedious for me to do (i still have a hyper 212x cooler).
Logged

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #4 on: 20-July-19, 11:28:41 »

Hello,
Unfortunately, it sounds like a mobo with DIMM slots problem (probability 40%) or a CPU with a bad controller (60%)! :undecided:
Plug only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2 (2nd DIMM slot from CPU) and do a clear CMOS:
- Power off PSU, unplug the power cord and wait that all mobo's leds light off.
- Either
    . short JBAT1 during at least 20s
      (if you have not a jumper cap, use something like a screwdriver but be cautious to touch only the 2 pins of JBAT1) or
    . remove the battery cell during 15mn.
- Plug the power cord and power on.
- Choose to use default values when asked.
If problem remains, try with another CPU should help to diagnose.
Hoping it shall help,
:hat tip:
oh sorry about my previous reply. i didn't know i could quote this way. :P will do this along with suggestion 1 of badboy2k. 

Thanks to you both!
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8444
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #5 on: 20-July-19, 11:43:46 »

when you say bottom of your CPU, this is the actual procie right?  sorry if i sounded stupid with that question. but i will try step 1 first since step 2 is kinda tedious for me to do (i still have a hyper 212x cooler).

what i mean is these:


clean them as if you touched and of them its very possible you can get the oil off your fingers onto them that can meke them make very poor contact with the Pins in the CPU socket.
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

Chike

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3096
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #6 on: 20-July-19, 11:54:58 »

Have you tried a DIMM2 & DIMM4 or DIMM1 & DIMM3 configuraton?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #7 on: 20-July-19, 16:14:22 »

Have you tried a DIMM2 & DIMM4 or DIMM1 & DIMM3 configuraton?

yup. one of the 1st i tried.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #8 on: 20-July-19, 16:22:45 »

Hello,
Have you done:
Quote
1/ Plug only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2 (2nd DIMM slot from CPU) and do a clear CMOS.
2/ If problem remains, try with another CPU should help to diagnose.
Result?
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #9 on: 22-July-19, 05:41:41 »

what i mean is these:


clean them as if you touched and of them its very possible you can get the oil off your fingers onto them that can meke them make very poor contact with the Pins in the CPU socket.
so I've done this: still the same :(
Logged

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #10 on: 22-July-19, 05:43:35 »

Hello,
Have you done:Result?
:hat tip:
I've done this too: no change either.

Does this mean those slots are really dead? :(
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #11 on: 22-July-19, 06:27:09 »

I've done this too: no change either.
That is pc does not post when there is only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2, right? Same result with only only DIMMA1 populated?
Quote
Does this mean those slots are really dead? :(
After all the previous tests, culprit could be either the mobo having bad DIMMA1+2 slots (probability 70%) or the CPU having a bad memory controller (30%)!
Really sorry for this bad news.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #12 on: 22-July-19, 07:03:22 »

That is pc does not post when there is only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2, right? Same result with only only DIMMA1 populated?After all the previous tests, culprit could be either the mobo having bad DIMMA1+2 slots (probability 70%) or the CPU having a bad memory controller (30%)!
Really sorry for this bad news.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
That is pc does not post when there is only 1 RAM stick in DIMMA2, right? Same result with only only DIMMA1 populated? - > Yes. Whether DIMM 1 or 2 are populated, it just goes to infinite reboot.

The procie however, I tried on another mobo and it works fine, even in dual channel mode. 

So it is the slots then. :(
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #13 on: 22-July-19, 07:41:55 »

Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #14 on: 25-July-19, 04:38:45 »

UPDATE:
So I had my friend try my motherboard just for the heck of it and he was able to use the RAM slots with no problem. :(

He was even able to stuck in 4 sticks and it still worked fine.

So it's not the motherboard.

If my RAM sticks work fine on DIMM slots 3 & 4 and on another board then it's not the RAM.
My procie works fine on another board too. 

What is it then??? :'(

Please help me figure this out.
Logged

Chike

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3096
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #15 on: 25-July-19, 04:58:33 »

Your case maybe.
Try it out the case on a wood table or cardboard.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #16 on: 25-July-19, 05:08:10 »

Your case maybe.
Try it out the case on a wood table or cardboard.
 
Oh when I did all my testing on the mobo, it was on top of a plain, cardboard box. 
I do this most of the time so I could easily add/remove components when testing.
Logged

Chike

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3096
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #17 on: 25-July-19, 05:15:48 »

How did your friend test it, same CPU and RAM?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #18 on: 25-July-19, 05:19:29 »

How did your friend test it, same CPU and RAM?
 
Different CPU (i3-3220), different RAM (1 pc 2GB + 3 pcs 4GB, Kingston, 1333).
Logged

Chike

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3096
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #19 on: 25-July-19, 05:35:10 »

The best thing would be to test it with your RAM too, and your CPU with his RAM.
Did you try different combinations of RAM in the 2 slots? (stick 1 n slot 2 stick 2 in slot 4, then swap the sticks)
we know it's not the socket, have you inspected the CPU pads?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #20 on: 25-July-19, 05:41:32 »

The best thing would be to test it with your RAM too, and your CPU with his RAM.
Did you try different combinations of RAM in the 2 slots? (stick 1 n slot 2 stick 2 in slot 4, then swap the sticks)
we know it's not the socket, have you inspected the CPU pads?
 
I'm not sure if I can still try that (his CPU on mine or my CPU in his) in the near future as my friend doesn't live near my place.

Yes, different combos: like only 1 in slots 1-4, 2 sticks in either pair of slots, and 4 sticks

Yes, they look fine, no scratches, dents, or even some sort of weird color or darkening on it. I did follow the advise to wipe it off with a high percentage alcohol but to no avail :(
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #21 on: 25-July-19, 06:46:05 »

UPDATE:
So I had my friend try my motherboard just for the heck of it and he was able to use the RAM slots with no problem. :(
He was even able to stuck in 4 sticks and it still worked fine.
So it's not the motherboard.
If my RAM sticks work fine on DIMM slots 3 & 4 and on another board then it's not the RAM.
My procie works fine on another board too.
What is it then??? :'(
Please help me figure this out.
Previously, I said:
"After all the previous tests, culprit could be either the mobo having bad DIMMA1+2 slots (probability 70%) or the CPU having a bad memory controller (30%)!"
So the only remaining suspect is CPU!
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #22 on: 25-July-19, 07:04:37 »

Previously, I said:
"After all the previous tests, culprit could be either the mobo having bad DIMMA1+2 slots (probability 70%) or the CPU having a bad memory controller (30%)!"
So the only remaining suspect is CPU!
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
 
I'm sorry if I'm missing the point here but... the same procie works on a mATX Dell board that also has 4 RAM slots. It works on that board with or without using dual channel using the SAME sticks of RAM.
Logged

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6534
  • RBL_FR
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #23 on: 25-July-19, 07:07:22 »

I'm sorry if I'm missing the point here but... the same procie works on a mATX Dell board that also has 4 RAM slots. It works on that board with or without using dual channel using the SAME sticks of RAM.
To verify, borrow the CPU your friend has used to test your mobo.
Good luck,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

crying.silenceTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: MSI Z77A-G43 - Dual Channel RAM Issue
« Reply #24 on: 04-August-19, 04:51:56 »

Hi guys! Sorry I was out for a long time. I didn't have access to my PC and was swamped with work.

Anyway, so I know this may be weird but what I was able to do instead was borrow another person's MSI Z77A and used my procie and RAM on it ... and well, it worked.

Frankly, this is VERY WEIRD as it seems like there's nothing wrong with my procie or RAM and it seems nothing is wrong with my mobo either. 

Sadly, this also meant I ended up buying a new mobo instead because I really needed to use my PC again.

Thanks for all the help everyone!
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up