Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can't hit XMP  (Read 1747 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Can't hit XMP
« on: 05-August-19, 17:48:31 »

Hello,

I have a MSI z390 Gaming Edge AC, 9700k, and 32gb 3200 crucial ballistix lt ram.

Board: MSI z390 Gaming Edge AC
BIOS:  E7B17IMS.A50
VGA:   MSI 2060
PSU:  Thermaltake 850w toughpower https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MQU6CWU/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
CPU:  Intel® Core™ i7-9700K Processor
MEM: Ballistix Sport LT 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Desktop Memory Model BLS2K16G4D32AESE https://www.newegg.com/ballistix-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820164140?Item=N82E16820164140
HDD/SSD: Crucial P1 nvme 1tb https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07J2Q4SWZ/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1
COOLER: Reeven Okeanos
Keyboard: Corsair k70
Mouse: Corsair m65 elite
OC:  None
OS: Windows 10 64bit Professional

I cannot get the ram to run at 3200, I've RMA'ed the first set, reset mobo to defaults, upped voltage for dram, and now I've tried upping CPU SA.  Still no luck, fails AIDA64 memory test almost instantly.  It passes fine at all defaults speeds(2133)

One thing I've noticed is in HWmonitor my CPU SA and CPU IO both stay under 1 and .9v respectivly, when I've went in and tried manually setting them to 1.2.  Maybe its just a display error tho, if I go into the BIOS it displays correctly.

I'm just trying to think of what else I can do to get the memory to run correctly...
Logged

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #1 on: 05-August-19, 19:03:44 »

Here are my timings stock vs XMP default
I don't really know enough to tell if something is out of whack though.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #2 on: 05-August-19, 19:42:41 »

Please follow >>Posting Guide<< maybe we'd be able to help you
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #3 on: 05-August-19, 19:50:41 »

Updated
Logged

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #4 on: 05-August-19, 20:03:54 »

I just updated my BIOS to E7B17IMS.A50 and have same issue.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #5 on: 05-August-19, 20:04:24 »

Your memory is not on the compatibility list so you may or may not run it at full speed.
Have you tested it in AIDA at default settings?
Have you tested it with memtest86?
Having them a lower speed with possibly lower timing is not a bad trade off.

I just updated my BIOS to E7B17IMS.A50 and have same issue.
Teah BIOS was OK was no mention to memory compatibility fixes after it.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #6 on: 05-August-19, 20:07:46 »

I wouldn't think the compatibility list is comprehensive, I've never had an issue like this before.  If you go to the crucial site and put in my motherboard, my ram is listed as compatible.

Yes, fails immediately with AIDA at default settings.

Passes memtest at 2400.

I could try lower timings, but I feel like maybe its related to the motherboard setting the secondary or teritary timings wrong.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #7 on: 05-August-19, 20:27:16 »

So it may not be the XMP but the memory itself.
BTW there are very few Crucial memory modules n the compatibility list and none of them above 2400.
Download and run MemTest86 see what it finds out.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #8 on: 05-August-19, 21:54:17 »

Memtest passes at 2400, fails in under half an hour with XMP enabled, all other settings stock on mobo.
Logged

plutomate

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3149
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #9 on: 06-August-19, 00:32:22 »

did you manually adjust timing or using on-board XMP function in BIOS?

Can you post your memory sticker picture here?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #10 on: 06-August-19, 03:37:50 »

Memtest passes at 2400, fails in under half an hour with XMP enabled, all other settings stock on mobo.
What test failed memtest86l?
But you say AIDA fail at defaults too, what test is it that fails, is it memory specific or generic stress?
If you could return them for a different st that is on the QVL it would be the best thing to do.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #11 on: 06-August-19, 09:07:15 »

I'll have to get a picture of the ram when I get home.

AIDA64 fails memory only stress test with XMP enabled.  Memtest I ran default configuration with XMP enabled and had multiple errors within half an hour.  I turned XMP off and ran for 2 hours no errors, and this has been consistant with my AIDA testing, everything with the same is fine until I turn ram speed up then instant errors, AIDA fails withing 30 seconds.

I've tried two sets of this ram and have the same exact outcome, but everyone on the forums i purchased them from seems to be able to OC them fine and are using the dram calc for ryzen to great success, but of course they doesn't help with intel.  I feel like there is something going on between the motherboard and the ram but don't understand why they just wouldn't be "compatible."
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #12 on: 06-August-19, 13:29:04 »

WHo have used them with a great success?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #13 on: 06-August-19, 13:50:18 »

The threads from /r/buildapcsales where this ram was on sale, it seemed pretty popular and lots of people able to OC it.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #14 on: 06-August-19, 14:01:32 »

Do you expect me to search this? Post the link.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #16 on: 06-August-19, 15:40:27 »

Honestly I can't see in those discussions any mention for boards or CPUs or even this specific RAM model.
Vendors QVL are more reliable, it is what they are for, help you find the components that match.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #17 on: 06-August-19, 19:53:23 »

Oh, I didn't realize you needed the links for that, I thought we established its not on the QVL.  There are also 3 model numbers for the same ram, just different colors.

I'm looking for help on things to tweak to improve the stability.
Logged

plutomate

  • MAJOR GENERAL
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3149
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #18 on: 07-August-19, 00:11:00 »

still don't see the sticker? how do u know it's e-die? are the ram on slot 2 & 4?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #19 on: 07-August-19, 01:16:52 »

I'm looking for help on things to tweak to improve the stability.
Right, but I am a bit confused due to the following:
Yes, fails immediately with AIDA at default settings.
AIDA64 fails memory only stress test with XMP enabled.

So I will take it AIDA does not fail with default settings (no XMP) for now.

Try setting XMP and manually set DRAM frequency to whatever is the frequency one step below 3200. and run AIDA again.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #20 on: 07-August-19, 09:09:47 »

I forgot to take a picture last night, I got distracted.  It's Micron E ram, that's what the AES in the model number stands for.  I've done some research on that, if you see the link above ( https://lanoc.org/review/pc-hardware/7940-ballistix-sport-lt-3200-mhz?showall=1 )for the OC review it discusses it.  

@Chike, nothing to be confused about, its easy to follow.  Stock settings(2400) it passes memtest and AIDA, XMP(3200) on it fails both very quickly.  I've manually tried changing the speeds with both the stock timings and the XMP timings.  Last night I did some more testing by backing down speeds manually and got to 2700 and still failed memtest but it went much longer without an error, AIDA passed for an hour.  I ran out of time to try 2600 but it will likely be stable.  Every other speed above that fails.  I've tried bumping CPU SA and IO manually to 1.20 instead of auto.  I've manually set dram voltage to 1.35, 1.4, 1.45 and tested at 3200 and all failed.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #21 on: 07-August-19, 12:58:58 »

Careful with the SA voltage you don't want to fry you CPU.
If you don't use XMP you must set memory voltage to 1.35 manually.
I am sure it is not the SA or IO voltage.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #22 on: 08-August-19, 23:42:39 »

Hi guys,

So I bought another ram kit to test with, and its on the QVL -
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C14D-16GVK
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232217?Item=N82E16820232217

It is Samsung B-Die ram and most people have big success OCing it...

And I have installed it, reset cmos, tested stable at default 2133... and.......... instantly fail stress tests when I enable XMP.  Same thing as the 32gb kit I was using before.

So now, we have QVL excuses removed, lets figure this out.  With XMP enabled I tried all kinds of different voltages, i stepped up to 1.45 dram v, I stepped up to 1.29 SA and IO v separately and together, and I've actually tried lowering SA/IO down below auto voltages.  Changing the voltages don't seem to help, the highest speed stable I have been able to hit which I'm running at now is 3000, see screenshots of settings at this speed, and thats with XMP off.  I've tried over 30 voltage combinations to try and get to XMP stability but I can't figure it out.  If I bump to 3066 stresss tests fail after a few minutes, 3100 test fail instantly.  Is it timings?  Is it something other then SA/IO/DRAM voltages?  Any suggestions?

Also, when I try to enable XMP with this ram I get a popup about MSI XMP boost raising my bclk to 100.8, I tried a few voltages with that but it seems to make the stability even worse before I started hitting no to that option.

All this trouble and I saw an article today about how the DRAM OC record was broken... using my same motherboard model!
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #23 on: 09-August-19, 00:07:02 »

Since it's on the QVL and you are with latest BIOS, I would exclude timings as a reason, unless if they somehow messed up things.
What stepping is your CPU P0 or R0?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #24 on: 09-August-19, 19:03:29 »

R0
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #25 on: 10-August-19, 02:29:33 »

R0 require latest BIOS so not possible to test with older version.
Try just one module, once in channel A then channel B.
Are there reference voltage options for memory in BIOS?
Have you tried the Memory try it option? (desperate times calls for desperate measures)
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #26 on: 11-August-19, 16:04:57 »

I RMA'ed my CPU and got another one, same stepping R0.  Just put it in today.

I'm testing and getting the same exact issue, can't hit xmp speeds.
I can get it stable around 2700 with decent timings, but thats not what the ram is rated for.

This has to be a mobo issue.... 3 ram kits, 2 9700ks, all top out around 2700mhz.  QVL says it can do 3200 with this kit.  :(
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #27 on: 11-August-19, 16:21:27 »

The last thing I'd suspect is the CPU, can't remember if I ever seen one that was faulty.
It is only likely that every new CPU will be R0 unless it is old stock.
What are decent timings? Normal would be 12-12-2-29 @ 2700MHz.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #28 on: 14-August-19, 10:19:44 »

It was the motherboard.

I returned the z390 gaming edge ac and bought a z390 ACE and am now able to hit faster then XMP speeds with the original cpu.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 5163
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #29 on: 14-August-19, 10:23:53 »

Cheers, 3400MHzm how is that manually, memory try it?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Gr0gTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16
Re: Can't hit XMP
« Reply #30 on: 14-August-19, 11:23:16 »

I enabled xmp and then manually bumped up the freq
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up