Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)  (Read 669 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« on: 19-September-19, 07:22:53 »

Horrible banding on this model using the FW.011 firmware version. My 6 year old Samsung 23" 1080p is not as bad as this.
Does anyone know whether it's now possible to update the firmware without having to send the monitor to a whole other country?
I ask because apparently in the change log for version .011 there's this:
"New through the graphics card, can automatically update the software features."
The question is what do they mean by "software features".
Logged

KiteGX

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #1 on: 19-September-19, 07:28:12 »

Wow, I got the same monitor on the same firmware version as you and mine doesn't look like that at all. I'd suggest trying a different cable or reinstalling your GPU drivers. If that doesn't work, you probably got a defective unit. Also, try resetting monitor settings to default if you made any changes. 

As for the firmware updates, it's still not possible. I've been arguing with customer support about that but they haven't responded for a while. It's amazingly stupid that they require an RMA for an update when some of their other monitor lines allow USB updating. MSI is being shady af with their firmware updates.

Completely unrelated but try the steam beta update, the library UI looks much nicer now.
Logged

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #2 on: 19-September-19, 09:21:03 »

I'm using the provided Displayport cable. I installed the MSI Monitor drivers along with the ICC profile included though this shouldn't happen regardless. I have it on the RGB Full mode in the nvidia control panel.
Can you please open up the steam library (non beta version, default UI) and take the same picture? I wanna know how bad the banding really is.
Thanks.
Logged

KiteGX

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #3 on: 19-September-19, 13:10:17 »

Well... I was wrong. Mine's just as bad, I just hadn't noticed. Here's a picture.
I planned to return mine anyways, too many issues with it to be worth the money.
Logged

akatos

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #4 on: 20-September-19, 05:24:41 »

This is severe color banding. I got it myself too in the same firmware. Keep requesting firmware update with software. They have no right to tell us to ship brand new monitors to other countries. They asked me to ship a day old monitor to Poland. The monitor has a USB port and they tell you to ship it because " special hardware tool is needed " ROFL!!! The Monitor has a USB port HELLOOO
Logged

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #5 on: 20-September-19, 05:48:33 »

@akatos
I emailed them 3 days ago and still no reply.
I don't buy the "tool" argument either, I think it's bull, but we don't have solid proof that it doesn't exist or is not required so we just have to play along. I suggest instead of sending the whole damn monitor all the way to Poland, they send us the "hardware fixture tool" whatever that is and make us sign a contract form to be legally liable to send it back to them within like a 14 day period or something. They streamline the process and provide us a quick guide on how to update the firmware with the tool. That way, no one has to risk the monitor getting damaged by shipping back and forth for updates (which is a ridiculous concept) and we don't have to wait around without a monitor for 2 weeks or more. It's a win-win situation for everybody.
Either that, or they figure out a way to make their monitors update through USB like every other :censored: company ever.

TL;DR: I wanna update my firmware but I don't wanna send my monitor anywhere, figure it out MSI. I got my monitor on Tuesday, if the firmware update issue isn't resolved within a month, this monitor is going right back where it came from :)
Logged

burakturkar

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #6 on: 20-September-19, 13:27:56 »

For your information fw.013 does not solve anything
Logged

akatos

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #7 on: 20-September-19, 13:35:03 »

For your information fw.013 does not solve anything
How they managed to wreck gamma so hard?
Logged

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #8 on: 20-September-19, 14:04:03 »

Quote
For your information fw.013 does not solve anything
This guy claims the FW.013 solved the issue for him: https://imgur.com/a/2FW0xpj
Are you on .013 yourself? can you please go on EIZO Monitor Test and send us a picture?
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17187
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #9 on: 20-September-19, 16:33:03 »

To make you aware:
I use different brand of monitor, and I have same banding in Steam. Obviously, my word wouldn't be 100% convincing, so below you should see a photo.
I don't think it's issue with monitor itself, but more like settings and the background in Steam. I see similar banding on 2 websites I commonly use, but watching videos or playing games look perfectly fine.



Quick edit, steam forum post from 2013:
https://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/1/810938082711026419/
MSI didn't have monitors back then :)
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

Errors are red, My screen is blue .I think I deleted, System32

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #10 on: 20-September-19, 16:55:03 »

@Nichrome
Does my picture look anything like yours?
Yes there is banding on every monitor when you open up the library on steam, but not *color* banding, you can see separate lines (it's not a smooth gradient) but they're all more or less the same shade unlike with the MAG271CQR, there's red and some green... (clear in the picture I provided).
I understand that on 8bit panels some amount of banding is to be expected, but not to this extent. You can also see this very clearly with the EIZO Monitor Test (Gradient), there's red and other colors where only black and white is supposed to be shown. This is where MSI, again, fails when compared to practically anyone else.
Send in the monitor for a firmware update => no one does that.
Color banding on a €400 monitor => doesn't happen with any other brand.
And add horrible support and rude moderators to that list ;)
If I don't get banned for whatever silly reason, I promise I will share the receipt (hope that's the right word) for returning the monitor through the post. I just want someone who works at MSI on this forum to know that you were the reason this monitor is going back.
Working with MSI or not I don't care, you don't talk to people as a moderator in a condescending way like that.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17187
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #11 on: 20-September-19, 17:09:20 »

I did not see colour banding, indeed it's terrible. Get it replaced or refunded as nothing can probably be done.
Something worth noting, sometimes different cable can fix all the issues. Once seen a completely random issue caused by HDMI cable... completely unrelated to what the user was experiencing. So maybe worth trying different cable?

Also keep your attitude to yourself. >>Please read and comply with the Forum Rules.<<
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

Errors are red, My screen is blue .I think I deleted, System32

burakturkar

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #12 on: 21-September-19, 03:17:10 »

This guy claims the FW.013 solved the issue for him: https://imgur.com/a/2FW0xpj
Are you on .013 yourself? can you please go on EIZO Monitor Test and send us a picture?
Here you go  https://imgur.com/a/13PBHBe what i mean generally this update does not solve anything or made the monitor acceptable picture quality for me after waiting 20 days for fw update (Turkey/istanbul) 

there is also turkish tech forum that eveybody complaining about this monitor various reasons freesync,ghosting problems etc...

Sadly i dont have any chance to refund.. for my experience i recommend no need to bother for fw update.

there is a turkish saying: After this kind of incident drink cold water so i try to sell it or gift to someone and never ever msi again :)

Feel free to ask if you need me to do more test or check smthning i have rx 5700xt with hdmi connection
Logged

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #13 on: 21-September-19, 06:45:44 »

Quote
Here you go  https://imgur.com/a/13PBHBe what i mean generally this update does not solve anything or made the monitor acceptable picture quality for me after waiting 20 days for fw update (Turkey/istanbul)
Thanks, yeah doesn't look half bad to be honest. I did check, there is an MSI service center in Istanbul, why did that take 20 days if you live in Turkey? (I assume that since you cited a turkish saying)
Can you fire up steam and take a picture of the library like the one I posted here? the steam background shows the issue more clearly than the EIZO monitor test.
I use Displayport for everything, since it's always superior to HDMI in terms of bandwidth but I don't think that matters really. But a DP cable is provided with the monitor, why not just use it.
This monitor was the cheapest in the 1440p/27"/144hz/VA category, so I guess you get what you pay for :bonk:And no I don't have to drink cold water haha, I'm still in the return period and I'm definitely sending this bad boy back, it's too much to deal with and a lot of headache. 50 more euros and I can get the Samsung C27HG70 which is the same in everything except it's 10bit (8bit + FRC) and supports HDR600 (8 local dimming zones sucks but better than nothing).
Logged

ndh660Topic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #14 on: 21-September-19, 13:14:43 »

@all
Good news, I guess?
In addition to this guy: https://imgur.com/a/2FW0xpj
I found someone else who owns this model and is willing to take some pictures for me: https://imgur.com/a/kG4hD0m
Credit: Lucas255
https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/msi-optix-mag271cqr-brief-review.18855462/page-6
(To compare, I took these while matching his settings: https://imgur.com/a/VMYrfFz )

It seems the color banding issue is fixed with the .013 update. Though to what extent? I'm not really sure, but at least there's something.
Logged

akatos

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17
Re: What the hell is that? (Banding - MAG271CQR)
« Reply #15 on: 22-September-19, 04:09:41 »

@all
Good news, I guess?
In addition to this guy: https://imgur.com/a/2FW0xpj
I found someone else who owns this model and is willing to take some pictures for me: https://imgur.com/a/kG4hD0m
Credit: Lucas255
https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/msi-optix-mag271cqr-brief-review.18855462/page-6
(To compare, I took these while matching his settings: https://imgur.com/a/VMYrfFz )

It seems the color banding issue is fixed with the .013 update. Though to what extent? I'm not really sure, but at least there's something.

Which is why I insist that MSI gives the firmware available online and provide a way to flash it via USB port. But... no... they suggest we ship our monitors to other countries.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up