Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: x299 Meg Creation last BIOS v.7C06v14 lose Nvme´s disks in aero Expander  (Read 329 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

Hi, I´m just update BIOS for last v14 and then I lost two Nvme installed into Aero Expander. There is no way to view those nvme disk in bios neither windows.

If I comeback to v12 BIOS version then works well.

I´don´t know if I need to do something new at new BIOS version or if it is one BIOS bug.

Any help?. Thanks you.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73310

have you tried to >>Clear CMOS Guide<< after flashing to 1.4 bios?
Logged

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

Thanks Svet.

Yes, I tried to clear MOS and still doesn´t Works.

I got 4 nvme non raid into aero xpander, Samsung 970 (for system), 32gb optane (deactivated), mydigitalssd bpx nvme and crucial p1 nvme.

This Works perfect under BIOS v.12 versión. But if I update BIOS to latest v.14 then only 970 and optane are recognized. bpx and crucial p1 are missing in BIOS and into Windows.

I don´t know if it is one BIOS bug or I need to configure something else into new BIOS.

Thanks.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7450
  • RBL_FR

Hello,
1/ In bios setup, go to "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration". Is "Windows 10 WHQL Support" enabled? Are "MSI Fast Boot" and "Fast Boot" disabled?
2/ Below "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Integrated Peripherals", what are the values of "M.2/Optane Genie", "M2_X-RST Pcie Storage Remapping" and "SATA Mode"?
3/ Please, do a screen copy of "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ VROC Configuration".
4/ What is the CPU model? Is the Expander plugged in PCI_E3 (3.0 x16 only with 44-lanes CPU: 3.0 x8 with 28-lanes and 3.0 x4 with 16-lanes)?
5/ Try to force the value of "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ PCI Subsystem Settings \ PEG <value for PCI_E3> - Max Link Speed" to "Gen3". Result?
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

No luck.
I,ve tried all and there is no way to disks detection.

Seems a BIOS bug.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7450
  • RBL_FR

No luck.
I,ve tried all and there is no way to disks detection.
It sounds like you are right...
But, please:
2/ Below "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Integrated Peripherals", what are the values of "M.2/Optane Genie", "M2_X-RST Pcie Storage Remapping" and "SATA Mode"?
3/ Please, do a screen copy of "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ VROC Configuration".
4/ What is the CPU model? Is the Expander plugged in PCI_E3 (3.0 x16 only with 44-lanes CPU: 3.0 x8 with 28-lanes and 3.0 x4 with 16-lanes)?

Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

Thanks. Yes it´s seems to be one buggy BIOS.

Settings are same in v12 and v14.

attached BIOS screenshots.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7450
  • RBL_FR

1/ Sorry but the rar file cannot be opened with WinRAR 4.01...
Can you with your own WinRAR?
2/ To be sure, you can exchange the expander with the GPU: expander in PCI_E1 and GPU in PCI_E3 (performances will be same) then a clear CMOS followed by "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration". Is "Windows 10 WHQL Support" enabled. But, of course, it is only if you want to verify...
3/ Alert MSI about this bug: >>How to contact MSI<<. Perhaps, a beta bios is already available...
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

rar files with winrar 5

Thanks, I´m going to contact with MSI about that.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7450
  • RBL_FR

rar files with winrar 5
Thanks, in waiting MSI support:
1/ In bios setup, set:
- In "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Windows OS Configuration"
  . "Windows 10 WHQL Support" enabled
  . "MSI Fast Boot" and "Fast Boot" disabled
- In "SETTINGS \ Advanced \ Integrated Peripherals"
  . "M.2/Optane Genie" and all "M2_X-RST Pcie Storage Remapping" disabled
  . "SATA Mode" at "AHCI Mode"
Result?
2/ Have you tried to exchange the expander and the graphic card?
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

vidalsh68Topic starter

  • SERGEANT
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23

Thanks you.

Yes, I´ve tried all of those things.

Bios config in v.14 is exacltly same as in v.12 but no disks detected into xpander.

I´m pretty sure that´s a bios bug. There´s no explanation for...

Thanks.
Logged
MSI x299 MEG CREATION, i9 7940x, MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X, Corsair HX1000i, NZXT Kraken x62 x 2 + G1, 970 evo, crucial P1, WD Blue, BPX, 32GB Optane, Corsair Scimitar, Newskill Hanshi, Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered, Focusrite 18i20. TASCAM vls3 x 5. ACER GN27HLB nvidia 3Dvision 144hz.

rbleroy91

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 7450
  • RBL_FR

I´m pretty sure that´s a bios bug. There´s no explanation for...
I fully agree! :yes:
I hope that MSI will have quickly a beta bios without this bug.
Have a good day,
:hat tip:
Logged
MSI X99A XPower Gaming Titanium (Bios 1.62)  –  Windows 7/10 (1903) Pro x64  –  i7-6850K + BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 + Corsair Vengeance LPX Series DDR4 3466MHz 4x16Go + MSI GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G + SSD Samsung, 1x 850 PRO 512GB (SATA) [Boot+OS drive] & 1x 970 PRO 1TB (NVMe) + HD SATAIII Seagate Barracuda, 7x 1TB & 1x 3TB + LG BR R/W + BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W 80PLUS Platinum +  BeQuiet! Dark Base Pro 900 + HyperX Alloy Elite keyboard + HyperX Pulsefire FPS mouse

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73310

have you tried to put the x-pander card on a different x16 PCI-E slot?
Logged

MTMnet

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 12

Hello.
I have also the MSI x299 Meg creation with a I9-9900x (44lanes).

Main Samsung 970 pro in M.2_3
Aero Expander with two Corsair MP510 M.2 (non Raid) x16_3

for now I use the old v11 Beta Bios... / should now final V12

What I can tell, is that I am not able to see the Expander Aero with the two SSDs in the Bios.
only Windows is able to see the SSD's  (or the Intel RSTe software (trial Mode) under Windows)

I think, standard is, you will not see the Expander in Bios.
(with no Intel Optane in your system).

but you also use a Intel 32GB Optane Memory with your HDD?
I saw my Aero drives one time in the Bios... If I switched to Intel Raid/Optane in Bios and used the RSTe software.
I have no Intel Drives... so the Bios said no raid possible.
I made a Bios reset and since then I use the drives only under Windows. (Aero SSD's not visible in Bios)

Will say... try the Intel RST/RSTe software (new version) under Windows to find the drives.
and I think you can also test set the SATA Bios option to Intel Raid/Optane because your Optane Memory.

only some thoughts.....
Logged
MSI X299 MEG Creation / Beta Bios 1.22
I9-9900X  10 core / up to 4.8 GHz
64 GB Ram 8x 8GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4 3466 cl16
1x MSI RTX 2080 ti Gaming x Trio in x16 PCI-E Slot 1
1x Samsung 970 pro 1 TB m.2 SSD  in M.2_3 Mainbord slot
Expander Aero in x16 PCI-E Slot 3 with 2x Corsair MP510 m.2 ssd's each 960 GB.(non Raid / Windows 10 pro)
PSU Corsair AX1600 // PC Water Cooled // FTTH Internet 250/50

LBJistherealchamp

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 1089

Hi,

If you have enabled M.2/Optane Genie, your M.2 drives will be shown in Settings\Advanced\Intel Rapid Storage Technology.

Can you show us your exact settings in BIOS?
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up