Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New Threadripper Build Not Booting to Bios, Help Appreciated  (Read 158 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

sam.gamble55Topic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5

** Parts List**
Board: MSI X399 SLI PLUS ATX TR4
BIOS:  E7B09AMS.A70
VGA:   RTX 2070 Super 8 GB DUAL EVO OC Video Card
PSU:  Corsair RMx (2018) 750 W 80+
CPU:  AMD Threadripper 1920X 3.5 GHz 12-Core Processor
MEM: G.Skill Trident Z RGB 16 GB (2 x 8 GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
HDD/SSD:Samsung 970 Evo 500 GB M.2-2280 NVME Solid State Drive, Seagate Barracuda 2 TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
COOLER:      Cooler Master Wraith Ripper 76.4 CFM CPU Cooler
Keyboard: One of the Razer gaming keyboards, can't remember which one but not RGB
Mouse: SteelSeries Rival 600 Gaming Mouse
OS: Windows 10 64bit Professional
 
I started building this PC several days ago and have been running into quite a few hiccups. Everything appears to be correct now, but the PC won't boot up.
What happens on start up
  •     The DRAM light turns on and stays on that.
  •     The DRO runs through numbers quickly, settles on "10" for a few seconds, and then turns to "0d" and stays there for the remainder of the time
  •     Monitor does not display anything, but does power on and show "no signal", no BIOS screen. Keyboard and mouse not active.
  •     All components light up and seem to be powered appropriately. CPU does heat up during use. Not sure if that means anything for its functioning.

I have tried:
  •     Both RAM sticks in every slot, together or alone.
  •     Removing the SSD. HD was left off the build for all these attempts as well.
  •     Flashed the Bios via a 8 GB FAT32-formatted USB stick with the file renamed msi.rom per manual. This seemed to successfully flash the BIOS, but the same error still occurs as above.
  •     Reseating the CPU, with new thermal paste and according to the video/instructions.

I think I have narrowed the issue down enough to either the RAM being bad or the motherboard. I have ordered some different RAM sticks off Amazon and it should arrive tomorrow, fingers crossed. In the meantime, does anyone else have any suggestions or wacky rituals to make this PC potentially work? I really, really appreciate any help you can offer.
Logged

Chike

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4250

Both codes a bit strange, 10 is waking from s1, and 0d reserved.
What do the ez debug leds show?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

sam.gamble55Topic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5

EZ Debug shows DRAM Fail. I'm currently trying to boot with 1 ram stick but I was following the recommended dual setup when I used 2.
Logged

Chike

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4250

Test with one at each slot, then try the other stick if the first one fail in all slots.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

sam.gamble55Topic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5

Yes, I tried each RAM stick alone in every slot and same issue.... I ordered some other RAM off amazon just to get it fast and check them. If those dont work, I think I'll have to replace the mobo. :(
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 73310

you can do test with latest beta .A85
https://www.mediafire.com/file/8jz56nsbsd76v70/E7B09AMS.A85.rar/file

else yes, can confirm that 0d error is a memory issue.

If problem persist:
re-seat the CPU,
* check the CPU socket for any bented pins with magni glass
* make sure to install the CPU cooler correctly and do not apply too much pressure over CPU and CPU socket.
* if you have another CPU cooler try it
* be sure to use threadripper screwdriver when installing the CPU to make sure not too much pressure will be applied.
Logged

sam.gamble55Topic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5

Hi, I tried your suggestions and reseated the CPU with no change, same with the cooler. I followed the instructions and used the special screwdriver and everything.

Another new development is I got different RAM sticks (still DDR4) and tried them out in every slot together/alone, but no change. Is this where I replace the mobo?
Logged

Chike

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4250

Another new development is I got different RAM sticks (still DDR4) and tried them out in every slot together/alone, but no change. Is this where I replace the mobo?
It is where I replace the motherboard and/or cpu, in fact before the different ram stage,
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  Samsung 840 EVO 120GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

sam.gamble55Topic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5

Yeeeeah, I think I'll just replace both of them. Go for broke. Fingers crossed it comes fast
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up