Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: No signal on monitor  (Read 537 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
No signal on monitor
« on: 15-December-19, 08:02:23 »

Good Afternoon,

Last week have I ordered all the components of my new pc, which are mentioned here:
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
  • MSI B450M PRO-VDH Max
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX CMK16GX4M2Z3600C18
  • Cooler Master Masterbox Q300L
  • 1 To 8-Way Fan Controller Splitter Hub Sata
  • 6 Corsair fans
  • Cooler Master MWE Gold 750 Full Modular
  • Samsung 970 EVO 1TB

The only component that isn't new is the grapical card, which is taking out of my own pc:

  • Asus DUAL-GTX1070-O8G

After putting everything together my fans started spinning but there was no signal given to the monitor. I have tried multiple things to fix the problem, which are:
  • Using the other two RAM slots
  • Using RAM from my old computer (2133MHz, 2 x 4GB DDR 4)
  • Using another Power Supply
  • Removing the fan hub

Since the grapical card was working in my other pc, I think the problem should be the motherboard(?).

Anyone who had the same problem or knows the solution for this? Looking forward for replies!

Kind regards,
Wouter
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #1 on: 15-December-19, 08:29:44 »

What do ez debug leds indicate?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #2 on: 15-December-19, 08:32:22 »

All the lights are off, except for the CPU light, this one is white.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #3 on: 15-December-19, 08:59:12 »

That indicates problem with cpu.
Take all components out except the cou and one memory stick.
Clear cmos,m and try again.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #4 on: 15-December-19, 10:36:11 »

By everything you mean the m2 as well?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #5 on: 15-December-19, 10:39:14 »

Try with the m.2.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #6 on: 15-December-19, 10:40:50 »

How should this give a signal to my monitor since Ryzen doenst have an integrated graphics?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #7 on: 15-December-19, 10:42:47 »

It won't give you signal, but until it get to the stage where it recognize the cpu and check for vga it does not matter.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #8 on: 15-December-19, 11:33:43 »

Only having the power supply, cpu, motherboard, 1 ramstick and the cpu cooler in the case, I resetted the cmos.
But the white led is still on.
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17689
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #9 on: 15-December-19, 11:49:14 »

Hi

Get that graphics card installed in your system. POST sometimes misbehaves and while it shows CPU LED, it might actually be pointing at the graphics card.
I'd also suggest you remove the CPU and inspect it for bent pins.
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

Errors are red, My screen is blue .I think I deleted, System32.
99% of issues would be solved if people would read the manual first.

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #10 on: 15-December-19, 11:51:27 »

Remove the cpu inspect it for any bent pins.
Reseat the cpu and try again.
If still the same either the board (more likely) or the cpu are doa.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #11 on: 15-December-19, 12:04:11 »

Okey, I think that found the problem. Some of the pins look curved so that explains why it isn't working. Probably going to send this back and have another try next week.

Thanks for the help guys!
Logged

Nichrome

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 17689
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #12 on: 15-December-19, 12:05:51 »

You could try carefully straighten those pins if they are not in a too bad "shape".
Logged
I only take responsibility for what I say, not for what you understand.  Any posts are my own views!

Errors are red, My screen is blue .I think I deleted, System32.
99% of issues would be solved if people would read the manual first.

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #13 on: 15-December-19, 12:08:32 »

Some of these pins look really bad, like an 45 percent angle. But besides this, it looks like there is something between the pins (I dont know what it is).
And the pins are in the middle of the cpu so its really hard to get there.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #14 on: 15-December-19, 12:16:17 »

When you install cpu you must not apply any pressure, the cpu should simply to fall in, if it does not it is probably in the wrong orientation.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #15 on: 15-December-19, 12:19:10 »

No, I didnt put any pressure on the cpu when putting it in. It is still just slipping in pretty easily. Maybe that it went wrong when changing the cooler, so it dropped and got damaged or something like that.
Anyways, I think I will contact the manufacturer and see what happens!
Logged

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #16 on: 17-December-19, 06:43:50 »

So, everything is working now except for the ram. I put in 1 stick and it works perfectly fine, but when i put a second in it doesnt boot and shows a led at the ez debug screen. This counts for the recommended and the 'un'recommended slots.
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #17 on: 17-December-19, 06:48:59 »

It post with one memory stick in any of the slots?
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #18 on: 17-December-19, 07:06:20 »

The last two slots (from the cpu perspective) didn't give any output. The first two did, with the first one giving a notification that the slot is not optimized etc.

UPDATE: the first two lots are working now, so I can use both of the ram sticks. Is this okey, since the first slot is not optimized?
Logged

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #19 on: 17-December-19, 10:50:10 »

So it is somewhat working now, but just not in dual channel. Is this a big issue.

And, can this be the problem with the pins not being fully straight? So they dont reach the motherboard pins?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #20 on: 17-December-19, 10:59:00 »

One channel will not be as fast as two, it is up to you if it's fine or not.

How severely are the pins bent, there are methods to straighten them.

I don't know how the am4 socket is built but bent pin can always cause a problem.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #21 on: 17-December-19, 11:04:12 »

Is there a big difference in speed? If it is only 2% its fine, but if it is a big difference I want it to change.

Also, can it be the problem that the socket isn't working properly due to the bent pins?
Logged

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 6384
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #22 on: 17-December-19, 11:21:42 »

Is there a big difference in speed? If it is only 2% its fine, but if it is a big difference I want it to change.
Don't know amd systems, with my system it's about 30% less bandwidth.


Quote
Also, can it be the problem that the socket isn't working properly due to the bent pins?
Like I said I don't lnow the am4 mechanics, but it is likely that bent pins are the problem.
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

WaltroTopic starter

  • CORPORAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
Re: No signal on monitor
« Reply #23 on: 17-December-19, 11:24:11 »

Hmm okay, 30% is a lot actually. I will call the manufacturer and talk to them. Thanks for the help anyways.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up