Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z390-A Pro won't power up  (Read 244 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Raptor2mTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Z390-A Pro won't power up
« on: 15-December-19, 18:16:21 »

I am installing a new MSI Z390-A Pro mobo with new CPU and memory in my current ATX case with 500w power supply. The PSU is about 7 years old. It works correclty with my old mobo/cpu, memory.

When I press the power button, nothing happens at all. The fans do not come on. None of the LEDs on the mobo light up. I have checked:
* All the required PSU cables are connected to the mobo (24 pin atx main, 8 pin CPU_PWR1, and 6 pin PCIE_PWR1)
* The PSU is plugged in and turned on
* The power button on front panel is correctly connected (I triple checked this and also tried shorting out the two power button pins on the mobo with a screwdriver)
* Only the correct standoffs are installed and nothing else is touching or shorting out the mobo

The PSU and power-on button work correctly with the old mobo. 

According to the mobo manual, the EZ Debug LEDs include: 
* CPU - indicates CPU is not detected or fail
* DRAM - indicates DRAM is not detected or fail

I connected the PSU and power on button to the mobo, with nothing else (no CPU, no DRAM, nothing else connected). According to the manual description, it sounds like the CPU and DRAM EZ Debug LEDs should come on. Is this correct? Is that how the LEDs work? When I press the power button none of the lights on the mobo light. up 
  
I thought that the mobo must be bad, so I requested a replacement from Amazon. The new board does exactly the same thing. It seems unlikely that they are both bad. I appreciate any suggestions.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Z390-A Pro won't power up
« Reply #1 on: 16-December-19, 01:52:10 »

You need to give us more information on what you have in your build as we only know what motherboard your using not anything else you have so please read the >>Posting Guide<< and give the information that is needed on the rest of your system.
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

Chike

  • GENERAL
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6405
Re: Z390-A Pro won't power up
« Reply #2 on: 16-December-19, 04:40:01 »

It is best you try everything out of the case first, on a cardboard or wood table (no anti-static bags).
Short the power pins with a crew driver.
Make sure the psu still works (paperclip test)
Logged
Motherboard: ASUS Z97-K R2.0 BIOS ver. 0903 2/26/2016
CPU: i5-4670k
Cooler: CNPS10x Performa
Memory: F3-2400C11D-16GXM
GPU: EVGA GeForce GTX 950 FTW ACX 2.0
SSD: 1. Samsung PM981 512GB, 2.  SanDisk SSD PLUS 240GB
HDD: WDC WD3200AAKS-00L9A0
PSU: Antec 500W VP500PC
OS: Windows 10 Home 1903 64-bit / Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Case: Compucase 6C60

Raptor2mTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Z390-A Pro won't power up
« Reply #3 on: 16-December-19, 12:46:20 »

I have done the paper clip test. The PSU starts up. The PSU also works fine with my old mobo.  I tested the mobo outside the case, on a piece of cardboard.  Same result.

My question is this: If I connect only the PSU to the mobo (no cpu or memory) and then short the power button pins, should the CPU and/or DRAM EZ-Diag LEDs light up? According the manual, it sounds like they should light up if no CPU or DRAM is installed.
Logged

Raptor2mTopic starter

  • PRIVATE E-2
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Z390-A Pro won't power up
« Reply #4 on: 30-December-19, 22:08:17 »

I bought a new PSU and hooked it up to the mobo out of the case and it powered up. I thought I would post what I have learned here in case someone else wants to know how the EZ-Debug leds work:

1) If you hook up the MSI Z-390 A Pro to the PSU without a CPU or RAM and then short the power button pins, the CPU EZ-Debug led will light. I assume that if there is a CPU but no RAM, the DRAM led will light.

2) My old 500w ATX PSU was somehow incompatible with the new MSI mobo. It works fine with my older mobo, but apparently it does not work at all with the MSI mobo.  I don't have time to get out my multimeter and do a detailed comparison of the two PSU units, but I assume that one of the voltages is off on one of the outputs of the old PSU or perhaps it does not respond to the power button on event quickly enough to work with the new mobo. Whatever is wrong, apparently the old mobo is more tolerated of the fault so it still works with the old PSU.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8561
Re: Z390-A Pro won't power up
« Reply #5 on: 31-December-19, 00:01:41 »

sounds like probably the +5V Standby (+5vSTB) voltage was low to me as that one is used to activate the power buttons mosfet to tell the PSU to power up. so if you want to check that on both that is 99% the likely suspect.
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.
Pages: [1]   Go Up