Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sound is Horrible! Why?  (Read 3001 times)

boulder_bum

Sound is Horrible! Why?
« on: 15-January-04, 01:25:28 »

I have a K8T Master 2 FAR BIOS 1.1. I am using the native sound, but the quality is aweful! It sounds like there's an echo, and it's kind of faint. I installed all the drivers for everything from the MSI disk, tested my speakers on another system, re-plugged in the cord to the mainboard, etc.

Actually, this question may be twice as dumb as I think. The far left sound plug is analog, right?

scottg26

(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 15-January-04, 03:57:51 »

is any environmental effects on?

boulder_bum

(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 15-January-04, 08:11:59 »

I played with the equalizer in WMP and the manufacturer's media player, (which helps a little) but ultimately the problem still exists.

Where would the "environmental effects" be found?

angler

(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 15-January-04, 14:46:56 »

Yes, the miniplugs along the left side (when you're facing the back) are the connections for 1/8'' coax. miniplug cables which carry analog signals.  The bottom left connection (which looks different) is for an optical S/PDIF connection, and the jack which is set off from the rest is made to carry a digital output through a coax. minplug.

How many channels of sound are you trying to produce?  If you're trying to produce 4-6 channel sound (not simply stereo) there are some additional setup procedures (see the Appendix of your mainboard manual).

Did you install the Realtek AC97 Audio Drivers?

P.S. - If you are using Windows 2000, you must have SP2 or later installed before using the AC97 Drivers.

-Angler

angler

(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 15-January-04, 14:50:36 »