Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HDD having problems again!!!!  (Read 653 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Worf105

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
HDD having problems again!!!!
« on: 11-May-04, 23:40:10 »

Hi all,

To save explaining (and typing) all over again, can anybody please have a look at the following link below:

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showindex.php?s=&postid=2451906#post2451906

I have posted there as I bought my drive from http://www.overclockers.co.uk

any suggestions please.

Kind Regards,

Andrew
Logged
New System:
Windows 7 pro 64-bit
GA-880GA-UD3H
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T OC @ 3.80GHz (14.0 x 272 Mhz@1.392V)
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler
8GB Mushkin Silverline 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 (4 X 2GB @ 544 Mhz)
SAPPHIRE HD6950 2GB GDDR5  (Flashed to 6970)
Black Xaser Armor Case
Corsair TX850W Power Supply
(+3.3V = 30A +5V = 30A +12V = 70A)

Old System: (now a backup server at mt work)
OpenSuse 11.3
K8N DIAMOND nForce4 SLi
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
2GB (2 x 1024) DDR OCZ Platinum (2-3-2-5-1T)
XFX GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Xaser Armor Case
Enermax Noisetaker 485W EG495AX-VE
(+3.3V = 32A, +5V = 32A, +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A)

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 11-May-04, 23:48:27 »

Memtest86

 i would try ram at 11,3,3 cas 2

 just set one drive up as a raid array and install as before

 setting scsi second to cdrom and the raid drivers as you did before

 then once xp is installed add the second and make a second array

 both arrays as such are false ,just a means for the controller to work
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

Worf105

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 12-May-04, 00:20:23 »

Thanks Wonkanoby,

I will try that at the weekend as I will have more time.. Can you or anyone else tell me if and where I can download a piece of software that will scan the whole RAID Array for surface errors at reboot and mark them a bad.

I have had my RAM replaced and I did and Do check with MemTest86.  No errors are found after five passes at the speeds stated (2,3,2,5 @ 180).  This RAM is rated at 2,3,2,5 @ 200.  I never told you that my 2 x 512 RAM is not matched pairs (Bought separately) and I am running in Duel Channel Mode, would this be a problem as I have never ran MemTest86 since I received this new motherboard a couple of days ago (used to have MSI KT6 Delta LISR in fact still got it as spare).

Cheers Mate
« Last Edit: 12-May-04, 00:21:05 by Worf105 »
Logged
New System:
Windows 7 pro 64-bit
GA-880GA-UD3H
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T OC @ 3.80GHz (14.0 x 272 Mhz@1.392V)
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler
8GB Mushkin Silverline 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 (4 X 2GB @ 544 Mhz)
SAPPHIRE HD6950 2GB GDDR5  (Flashed to 6970)
Black Xaser Armor Case
Corsair TX850W Power Supply
(+3.3V = 30A +5V = 30A +12V = 70A)

Old System: (now a backup server at mt work)
OpenSuse 11.3
K8N DIAMOND nForce4 SLi
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
2GB (2 x 1024) DDR OCZ Platinum (2-3-2-5-1T)
XFX GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Xaser Armor Case
Enermax Noisetaker 485W EG495AX-VE
(+3.3V = 32A, +5V = 32A, +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A)

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 12-May-04, 07:34:40 »

memtest the ram in this board ,tests in another mean nothing
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

Worf105

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 12-May-04, 13:27:21 »

Hi Wonkanoby,

i have finished running MemTest86 and MemTest86+ and no errors were found.  

Cheers,

Andrew
Logged
New System:
Windows 7 pro 64-bit
GA-880GA-UD3H
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T OC @ 3.80GHz (14.0 x 272 Mhz@1.392V)
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler
8GB Mushkin Silverline 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 (4 X 2GB @ 544 Mhz)
SAPPHIRE HD6950 2GB GDDR5  (Flashed to 6970)
Black Xaser Armor Case
Corsair TX850W Power Supply
(+3.3V = 30A +5V = 30A +12V = 70A)

Old System: (now a backup server at mt work)
OpenSuse 11.3
K8N DIAMOND nForce4 SLi
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
2GB (2 x 1024) DDR OCZ Platinum (2-3-2-5-1T)
XFX GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Xaser Armor Case
Enermax Noisetaker 485W EG495AX-VE
(+3.3V = 32A, +5V = 32A, +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A)

Worf105

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 12-May-04, 16:22:05 »

Hi again,

Was reading another post on another forum and found some had a similar problem as to mine.  They mentioned about a clicking sound coming from the drives and one or both of mine also clicks a lot, almost sounds like a floppy drive reading a disk but quieter.

Hope this can throw some light onto the matter.

Cheers,

Andrew
Logged
New System:
Windows 7 pro 64-bit
GA-880GA-UD3H
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T OC @ 3.80GHz (14.0 x 272 Mhz@1.392V)
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler
8GB Mushkin Silverline 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 (4 X 2GB @ 544 Mhz)
SAPPHIRE HD6950 2GB GDDR5  (Flashed to 6970)
Black Xaser Armor Case
Corsair TX850W Power Supply
(+3.3V = 30A +5V = 30A +12V = 70A)

Old System: (now a backup server at mt work)
OpenSuse 11.3
K8N DIAMOND nForce4 SLi
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
2GB (2 x 1024) DDR OCZ Platinum (2-3-2-5-1T)
XFX GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Xaser Armor Case
Enermax Noisetaker 485W EG495AX-VE
(+3.3V = 32A, +5V = 32A, +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A)

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 12-May-04, 17:32:16 »

if it clicks like that i would rma it
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

Worf105

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Platinum
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 325
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 12-May-04, 22:02:51 »

Thanks Wonkanoby,

Will get in contac with http://www.overclockers.co.uk ASAP and ask for an RMA on both drives.

Kind Regards,

Andrew
Logged
New System:
Windows 7 pro 64-bit
GA-880GA-UD3H
AMD Phenom II X6 1055T OC @ 3.80GHz (14.0 x 272 Mhz@1.392V)
OCZ Vendetta 2 CPU Cooler
8GB Mushkin Silverline 1333MHz 9-9-9-24 (4 X 2GB @ 544 Mhz)
SAPPHIRE HD6950 2GB GDDR5  (Flashed to 6970)
Black Xaser Armor Case
Corsair TX850W Power Supply
(+3.3V = 30A +5V = 30A +12V = 70A)

Old System: (now a backup server at mt work)
OpenSuse 11.3
K8N DIAMOND nForce4 SLi
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ Dual Core
2GB (2 x 1024) DDR OCZ Platinum (2-3-2-5-1T)
XFX GeForce 8800 GTS
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
Xaser Armor Case
Enermax Noisetaker 485W EG495AX-VE
(+3.3V = 32A, +5V = 32A, +12V1 = 18A, +12V2 = 18A)

frenchy2k1

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 14-May-04, 01:40:46 »

Clicking sounds are usually power related for HDDs or defective drives.

I use a PCI RAID controler (RAID5) and when i got some write errors, scandisk (in winXP) took good care of them. Never had a problem since.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up