Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Why not utilise your system's redundant processing power for a worthy cause, and join the MSI HQ Red Rockets Folding@Home team?

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Questions about Dual Channel and Ram  (Read 1642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

661FM2

  • Guest
Questions about Dual Channel and Ram
« on: 18-December-04, 06:56:01 »

Hi guys,

I'm thinking to replace my ram. But I'm not into RAM so can you guys help me?

For board that supports dual-channel function

1) In order to achieve this feature, I must buy those twin package right?
Example - CORSAIR 1pair/2pcs 512MB (TwinX1024-3200XL) PC-3200/400MHz DDR SDRAM

2) If I used 2 sticks of the same module type but it's still useless right?
Example - CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB (PC-3200/CL2.5) 400MHz DDR SDRAM x 2
(I think it's useless but just want to confirm)

3) Let's say I bought the Corsair 1 pair/twin moudule but my board don't support dual channel function. Can they still run on my board? I believed should be able to but I'm just wasting $$$ right? (Sorry if my question sound stupid but just want to confirm)

4) Is Kingston Ram Good? I'm thinking to get this maybe x2 so please advise

KINGSTON HyperX 512MB (PC-3200/CAS-2) 400MHz DDR
-Code:KHX3200A/512 or KHX3200/512 -@2-2-2-6-1 (CAS Latency 2) -400MHz (PC3200)

Thank You and Cheers!  :biggthumbsup:
Logged

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: 18-December-04, 07:42:29 »

there is no actual difference in the dimms

its a marketing mans dream

just their hype that they tested them together

and under the heat spreaders they are a matched pair with same chips
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: 18-December-04, 14:52:09 »

If you notice in my sig, I'm running in dual channel. But, the ram was not purchased as a matched set. They are the same brand, speed, and type, and made in the same plant, USA. In fact, CPU-Z shows that they were manufactured 1 week apart--1 week 9/04, the other week 10/04. I even have a friend that states he has 2 different brands of ram running in dual channel--I think he was very lucky. Buying a matched pair is like buying insurance--your loading your dice to reduce the risk they don't work in dual channel.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Del UK

  • Del UK
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3759
    • http://www.msi.com.tw/
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: 18-December-04, 22:29:35 »

Matched pair extra few £ or $'s

Check all the brand name mem...........

See which is best for your budget

Look a warranty........ (Corsair offer LIFETIME, as long as you keep receipt)

The extra 0.5 does make a big difference........ (2.0 as to 2.5)

Del UK
Logged
Main system
MSI P45 FR3 V1, Q9550 with Corsair H50, Corsair TX 650, Nvidia 650 ti boost, 8Gb DDR2 Corsair XMS2, onboard NIC/Audio, WD 250 with Synapse  & 500 RE drives, Opti Bluray, Enermax batwing 120's. Win 7 Pro 64bit

661FM2

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: 19-December-04, 05:09:17 »

Thanks for posting appreciated  :biggthumbsup:

Frankenputer, you said your friend runs on different type of ram on dual channel but is he getting dual bandwidth?

Del UK, you said extra 0.5 makes a BIG difference...

Ok guys which is better, faster for system performance? More Ram or faster speed?

Example

1) 1Gb of KINGSTON (PC-3200/CL3) 400MHz DDR SDRAM or
2) 512mb of KINGSTON HyperX (PC-3200/CAS-2) 400MHz DDR @2-2-2-6-1?


Pricing of DDR RAM
512mb of KINGSTON (PC-3200/CL3) 400MHz DDR SDRAM cost $115
512mb of KINGSTON (PC-3200/CL2.5) 400MHz DDR SDRAM cost $148
512mb of KINGSTON HyperX (PC-3200/CAS-2) 400MHz DDR cost $200


I can get 1Gb of CL3 at $230 while 512mb of Cas2 already at $200. Is it worth the extra $ to get HyperX and CAS2?

Thanks again  :biggthumbsup:
Logged

661FM2

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: 19-December-04, 05:15:05 »

I think Kingston also provides lifetime warranty for their Ram. You all might be wondering why such a big fuss over the ram as I got budget limit after replacing the new processor/board about 2 weeks back haha

I just don't want to rush into it and buy something now and regret later so I think it's better to ask around, confirm the specs and quality and most importantly make my $$$ worth  :biggthumbsup:

Thanks again!  8-))
Logged

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: 19-December-04, 05:15:51 »

they might work if different,then again they might not

but thats a lottery

that many loose

but if they work together then it will be as dual channel

Ok guys which is better, faster for system performance? More Ram or faster speed?

more ram
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: 19-December-04, 05:47:48 »

If you mean different type meaning different brands, yes, that is what he stated. The RAM sticks were labled differently but the same size, MB.  I was amazed that he stated it worked. I certainly would use the same brand and model RAM if not buying as a matched pair. To work in dual channel the RAM sticks must be the same size=i.e, 2 X 512, 2 X 256, 2 X 1024.
« Last Edit: 20-December-04, 00:08:08 by Frankenputer »
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

bubba_at_work

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: 19-December-04, 15:31:47 »

As you can see I am running in single channel mode due to my own initial build when a trashed HDD caused red herrings and didnt set APCI to disabled during XP build.
any way I ended up sending 2 x 512 Corsair DDR2 sticks back as I though it was busted. so swapped out for 1gb stick of kingston ram as no supply of 512's available anywhere at time of purchase.


anyway my question....

what is the performance difference between single channel and dual channel ?


Machine spec
===========
MSI 915 Neo2 Platinum (601-7028-020)
bios=A7028IMS V1.5
cpu=intel Pentium P4 socket775 3.2Ghz
Memory=1 stick of Kingston 4200 CL4 240 KVR533D2N4/1G (yeah i know its not in dual mode)
Video card=MSI X600XT-TD128 (602-8961-04S)
Power supply=650w 12v 20Amp qtec
hARDDRIVE=Maxtor Plus10 200Gb 7200 SATA150 8mb cache (located on SATA1)
Optical Drive=LG 40x CDRom drive CRD8400C
Operating System=XP Home SP2

BIOS settings:
SATA in Enhanced mode to be recognised as AHCI
APCI disabled
« Last Edit: 19-December-04, 15:32:13 by bubba_at_work »
Logged

Danny

  • Guest
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: 19-December-04, 15:37:29 »

My experience is dual channel is a noticable improvement over single channel in the real world.

CAS2 vs CAS2.5 I think will only be noticeable if all you do is run benchmarks.

1G vs 512MB means that you will never use the swap file (well, hardly ever).

So I would choose 2x512MB of the lowest priced Kingston. Since you are looking at DDR400 I assume you are not considering overclocking, so the Kingston Value ram should be adequate.
Logged

Sharp

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2117
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: 19-December-04, 18:43:54 »

Hello,

With only 1 stick of memory and a CPU with an 800Mhz FSB

The CPU will be limited to only 3200Mb/s of data every second.

So that makes the CPU less efficient as 800Mhz is capable of 6400Mb/s.


But with dual channel the memory should be able to handle 6400Mb/s.
So the CPU can acces more data.
Logged
MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
Coolermaster GX450W PSU

Del UK

  • Del UK
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3759
    • http://www.msi.com.tw/
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: 19-December-04, 22:25:07 »

Quote
Originally posted by Danny
My experience is dual channel is a noticable improvement over single channel in the real world.

CAS2 vs CAS2.5 I think will only be noticeable if all you do is run benchmarks.

1G vs 512MB means that you will never use the swap file (well, hardly ever).

So I would choose 2x512MB of the lowest priced Kingston. Since you are looking at DDR400 I assume you are not considering overclocking, so the Kingston Value ram should be adequate.


CAS2 vs CAS2.5 I think will only be noticeable if all you do is run benchmarks.

Knocked a whole minute off folding frame rate..............even when running 2 consoles under XP each took 1 minute less per frame to fold.

Del X-((
Logged
Main system
MSI P45 FR3 V1, Q9550 with Corsair H50, Corsair TX 650, Nvidia 650 ti boost, 8Gb DDR2 Corsair XMS2, onboard NIC/Audio, WD 250 with Synapse  & 500 RE drives, Opti Bluray, Enermax batwing 120's. Win 7 Pro 64bit
Pages: [1]   Go Up