Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: My new system and games problem  (Read 16897 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zippy77777

  • Guest
Re: My new system and games problem
« Reply #50 on: 14-March-05, 17:50:00 »

Tell me what you think, as I have read all the reviews and I am quite interested in this one lads.
Logged

Supershanks

  • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4050
  • Manchester U.K. Help us help U post specs.
Re: My new system and games problem
« Reply #51 on: 14-March-05, 18:54:21 »
  • Best Answer

  • Personnally i'd go for the 480 but if your on a budget it should be ok, check out the 370W Enermax Noisetaker EG375AX-VE-G-SFMA aPFC Quiet as well. (same site)

    luck
    Logged

    shturmovik

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #52 on: 15-March-05, 03:37:42 »

    My 9500 Pro has a power plug like that and yes I use the floppy power pin and it works!
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #53 on: 15-March-05, 06:36:16 »

    Sharp you say you like the hiper type R series, but they are only 18A on the 12V arent they?
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #54 on: 15-March-05, 08:01:10 »
  • Best Answer

  • Hello,

    It has 2 12v rails (rails refer to the voltages, 3.3v rail, 5v rail etc...)

    1 is 18A
    1 is 16A

    Why have 2 +12v rails?

    1 is dedicated to the motherboard/CPU
    The other is dedicated to all your components that plug into the power connectors.

    That provides better power to the CPU/motherboard and prevents your components from stealing too much.

    So your PC should be more stable.

    And there is a slight efficiency gain.
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #55 on: 15-March-05, 08:21:22 »

    Thank you, its just when you read the specs it doesnt actually say there are two rails.

    There are there different types, silver, black and orange, Do you know why the silver one is more expensive, they all have the same specs? Is it becoz its more popular. I like the orange one as it has the glow and i like gadjets. Would you agree?
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #56 on: 15-March-05, 08:26:54 »
  • Best Answer

  • Maybe it is more popular  :-))

    The one you call orange is suppose to be RED.

    I like the RED and BLACK, I would buy the black one as my pc case is black.

    You know the connectors are UV reactive too, are you into all of that?
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #57 on: 15-March-05, 08:30:35 »

    so you mean they glow in the dark yeah?
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #58 on: 15-March-05, 08:34:00 »
  • Best Answer

  • Yes but you must put a UV light in your PC.
     :-))

    I think the silver one is not UV reactive and I am not sure about the RED one.


    http://reviews.pimprig.com/power_supply/image.php?url=type_r-blk_uv.jpg
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    dawwgbert

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #59 on: 15-March-05, 09:00:44 »

    I had a similar problem. My ram appeared fine as I ran memtest 86 ver3.2 for 6 hours with zero errors. However, games would stutter and freeze on my 6800ultra. Relaxed the ram timings in the bios and everything is running smooth.
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #60 on: 15-March-05, 09:43:33 »

    How do you do that, and what should they be running at, i dont really dabble in this area.
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #61 on: 15-March-05, 12:12:51 »
  • Best Answer

  • In the BIOS, advanced chipset features


    DRAM Configuration.
    see where is says timing mode, choose manual.

    http://www.bleedinedge.com/reviews/mobo/msi_k8n_neo4/images/pic3ramconfig.gif

    Only change the
    CAS
    tRAS
    tRCD
    tRP

    2.5-3-3-10 in the picture.

    By default what is your memory running at?
    When you run memtest it may tell you.
    Or you can use this program.
    http://www.cpuid.com/cpuz.php#download
    The SPD/memory TAB tab.

    Do not try to run the memory timings at low values as it may cause the PC to freeze.

    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #62 on: 15-March-05, 13:04:03 »

    I am thinking about purchasing one of those hiper psu's they do look nice and will help keep mu system stable.

    Do you think my games might be causing problems because of my ram settings? I have 2 x 512MB DDR 400MHZ 3200PC chips. I wish I could get that blue screen up like you have but I have made some note for you to look at, mine is running on auto so do you suggest I change them?

    My timing mode is auto
    which makes memclock index 200
    Tci 2.5
    Tras 8
    Trcd 4
    Trp 2
    The all the autos are the same as yours until user config which again is auto
    which makes 1T/2T Memory timing 2T

    The rest of the settings are the same
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #63 on: 15-March-05, 13:38:31 »
  • Best Answer

  • If you use the CPUZ program is that what it says in the SPD TAB?

    The reason I ask is because usually the Trcd & Trp and the same, but you have said

    Trcd 4
    Trp 2 <this one should be 4.

    maybe try
    2.5
    8
    4
    4

    Usually if the ram timings do not work you will get an error in memtest.
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #64 on: 15-March-05, 13:48:21 »

    do i need to change any of the other settings that are different from yours or just that 1 on Trp to 4

    why is my memclock 200 and not 166 like yours and what about the memory timing?
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #65 on: 15-March-05, 13:53:04 »

    In spd in cpuz my timings are as follows


    133mhz...2.0...2...2...6
    166mhz...2.5...3...3...7
    200mhz...3.0...3...3...8

    what would you suggest, and by the way thank you for all your help mate I really appreciate it!! :)
    Logged

    Tiresmoke

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #66 on: 15-March-05, 13:59:31 »

    200mhz...3.0...3...3...8
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #67 on: 15-March-05, 14:07:09 »
  • Best Answer

  • Yeah use 200Mhz 3-3-3-8.

    The screenshot I showed you was from a review on a website, I linked to it to give you an idea of what to expect when you enter the BIOS.

     :-))

    Note, the 8 is the tRAS value.

    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #68 on: 15-March-05, 14:42:22 »

    Thank you guys I have made those changes in my DRAM settings.

    Can I overclock my 3000+ 64 chip?
    Im not sure if I can change the multipler though and voltage etc
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #69 on: 15-March-05, 14:46:17 »
  • Best Answer

  • Did the settings cure your problem?

    I think you can change the multiplier in the BIOS, CELL MENU.
    (Unless you meant that your power supply may hold you back from overclocking?)

    Then look for CPU ratio.

    But are you sure that you want to do that?
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #70 on: 15-March-05, 15:58:48 »

    I have not tried my games yet but I will give them a go later. Hopefully the setting on the ram would have made a difference, but we shall see.
    I was hoping that I might be able to overclock the chip from 3000+ but i am not sure how.

    I still have a problem when i boot up, i get the desktop with a red cross through my norton antivirus icon, then a few seconds later the screen goes blank and then comes back after about a second or two and the cross has gone and all is ok. Just wondered if this is correct running sp2.
    Logged

    Sharp

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT COLONEL
    • *
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 2117
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #71 on: 15-March-05, 17:19:57 »
  • Best Answer

  • Windows XP SP2 hasa feature called DEP, it can cause some programs not to work correctly.
    Here is how to disable it.

    Right mouse on my computer >Properties

    Advanced TAB

    Startup and recovery settings >Settings

    EDIT

    Look at the last line

    .../noexecute=optin...

    change the word optin to alwaysoff
     
    .../noexecute=alwaysoff...

    Then save the file >OK and restart the PC.

    I will pop back tommorow.
    Logged
    MSI 760GM-P33 BIOS v1.3
    AMD Athlon II 240 X2 2.8Ghz Socket AM3
    Crucial BallistiX Tactical 2x4GB PC3-12800 8-8-8-24
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 500GB SATA IDE mode
    Nvidia GTS 250 512MB 800Mhz : 1850Mhz : 1200Mhz (Core : Shader : Memory)
    Coolermaster GX450W PSU

    Tarkan2467

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #72 on: 15-March-05, 22:22:32 »

    That's pretty strange... all the power plugs that I've come across for Vid Cards were the 4 pins.

    But if it says that you need to plug it in & that's the only "plug in town" - go for it. Hopefully that'll do the trick.

    All the NVIDIA AGP cards use 4-pin power connectors but the PCI-E versions use a six-pin connector. I'm guessing there's some kind of adapter you can use to convert the 4-pin plugs on your PSU to the six-pin needed by the video card.
    Logged

    Zyrix

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #73 on: 16-March-05, 01:59:33 »

    I've got the exact same video card and it doesn't need to be connected directly to PSU, The only connector it has (on top), is the SLI connection.
    This is because AGP port can provide 45 W (if I remember correctly) of power thus the external power connection is needed for extra power, the PCI-e however can provide the card with 75 W, so there is no need for any kind of external connection.
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #74 on: 16-March-05, 07:12:44 »

    Yeah my 6600gt MSI is the same as yours Zyrix, doesnt have any power connectors apart from the sli which i wont be using anyway. It just throws you a bit when you look at the pictures of it on the website because those ones do have the connector. ODD!

    Thx Sharp I will give those settings a go later when I get home from work, talk to you later chap. :)
    Logged

    Tarkan2467

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #75 on: 16-March-05, 10:28:25 »

    Right, I think I heard that some of the 6600GTs don't have the extra power connector because the PCI-E slot can provide enough. That extra power connector might come in handy though if you plan on overclocking. Couldn't hurt, anyway.

    I believe all the 6800 PCI-E chips have the power connector but I could be wrong...
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #76 on: 16-March-05, 12:59:30 »

    Well my card dont have one so I guess thats that!

    I tried your alwaysoff thingy Sharp but it didnt make any difference im afraid. I will leave it as it is now but it must be something else causing the problem
    Logged

    zippy77777

    • Guest
    Re: My new system and games problem
    « Reply #77 on: 16-March-05, 13:11:08 »

    What happens is that when I restart the machine my norton antivirus software that is running starts of with a cross through it in the bottom right hand corner of my desktop. After about 5 seconds my screen goes black for about two seconds and then comes back up and works fine and the cross is gone. This happens every time I restart or reboot.

    I really think its got something to do with the windows security in SP2. I think that maybe becoz windows has its own antivirus software, it sort of loads that first so disables mine, and then when it goes black, its having a rethink and then comes back up with mine working instead. But how do I get round this?

    ODD!
    Logged
    Pages: 1 [2]  All   Go Up