Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

The Forum FAQ contains answers to many frequently asked questions, please browse or search there before posting.

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Is there a limit on the number of Browser Windows that can be open?  (Read 1475 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

MavMSI

  • Guest

Not sure if this is the right place to post but I'll try anyway.

I like to have a lot of browser (IE6) windows open when I'm researching a topic.  But whenever I get to about 33 to 34 browser windows open, my system beeps and I can't open any more windows until I close a few.

I have plenty of Memory (2GB) and a fairly high powered system (see sig below).

Does anyone know what is causing this limitation and/or how it can be prevented?

Thanks
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^

Oh my! Why would you need so man browsers to be opened at the same time?

I've only tried opening 20 browsers in one shot but finds it hard to monitor so I only open max of 5 browsers now. But as for 30+ browsers, I personally has yet to try...
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483

MavMSI,

Have you ever thought about switching to a Tabbed Browser? It would make all those web pages much easier to manage.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

MavMSI

  • Guest

I have but I haven't found one I liked. Which one do you recommend?

But personally, I would prefer if someone knows a solution to this particular problem.  I'm not sure if the limitation is latent in IE6 or WinXP or whether there's a relevant setting somewhere that can alleviate the problem.

Thanks
Logged

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA

Many people use Firefox, from Mozilla. http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/   I've used it and like it, but for a while I've been using Slimbrowser which utilizes the IE core. Slimbrowser also has tabbed browsing. http://www.flashpeak.com/
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483

MavMSI,

I do not used a tabbed brower, but Slimbrowser would be one of my top choices:



Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

Mike

  • aka Frankenputer
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 9818
  • Virginia, USA

Death, you ougt to try tabbed browsing. I wasn't sure about it when I first tried tabbed browsing, but it's really nice.
Logged
#1:
MSI X38 Diamond/Bios 1.5; Core2Duo E8400 3.0Ghz; Thermalright Ultima-90HS/120 fan; 2X1GB DDR3 CorsairTWIN3X2048-1333C9DHXG; PIONEER|DVR-215DBK SATA DVD-DL & Lite-on DVD-ROM PATA; FDD; MSI 260GTX-T2D896; 196.34beta; Seagate 320GB  & WD 500GB SATA HDDs; PC P&C Silencer 750 +3.3V/24A~+5V/30A~+12V/60A; X-FI Xtreme PCIe; Antec P182 Case; XP PRO SP3

#2:
MSI 865PE Neo2-PFS Platinum/Bios 3.A; P4 2.8C HT; Thermalright XP-90HS; 2GB DDR400 RAM(2x1GB kit Mushkin HP3200 2-3-2-6); Nec ND-3550A DVD-DL & TDK 52X24X48 CD-RW; FDD; Nvidia GeForce 7800GS; 84.21; Maxtor 200GB & Seagate 200GB PATA HDDs; Enermax 465P VE-FMA +3.3V/35A~+5V/35A~+12V/33A; Audigy 2ZS; XP PRO SP3
Dell 2209WA LCD on a DVI KVM switch

MSI Wind U100

Wonkanoby

  • Lightning
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31297

Maxathon

or as it was before Myie 2
Logged
P5Q Deluxe
Intel QX 6700
4GB OCZ
60 GB Vertex drive
ATI 5850

[T-A]_Super_10

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Leader
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2340
  • If its not overclocked, its not fast enough
    • http://users.zoominternet.net/~ta.home/TASuper10.htm

I wondered myself so i started opening them i stopped at 40 open browsers and no error everything seemed fine.

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^

Ok, I've tried opening around 36 browers at one shot. No problems.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19577
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk

well, i've got up to 72 now, and its still working, but getting a bit sluggish :shocked:

Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19577
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk

noticed that with 72 instances of internet explorer open, that my pagefile had gone up to 1.6gb :shocked:, once they had all been closed, it went back down to 338mb (this is based on my system having 1gb of RAM)

i also observed that each process of IE was using a little CPU usage each. but it is a puzzle that your higher spec system (than mine) has this problem

Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

frenchy2k1

  • Guest

with so much RAM, he may have limited his page/swap file size (i know i usually fix mine).
Some programs always create *some* swap space, even when they fit in memory. It could be the case of IE.

Personnally, i use Mozilla and i *KNOW* that i had many more tabs open at the same time with no problems on a PIII 800MHz with 256MB of ram.
Logged

bassmadrigal

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Marshall
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1529
  • Giggidy, Giggidy, Gig-gi-dy
    • bassmadrigal's blog

I use firefox also with tabbed browsing and I have had multiple (3-4) windows open with over 40 tabs in each on my laptop (Celeron 400 MHz with 224MB of ram) so if anything it would be a problem with IE. I can't strongly recommend enough to use firefox. It is alot more stable and has fewer security holes. Also you can get about anything you want for it with extensions that are available. Two great websites to check out are http://addons.update.mozilla.org and http://www.mozdev.org . I have found everything from tabbed browsing to adblockers to ftp programs. It is a great program to use and has so many features it plows IE into the ground.

Just my humble opinion.
Jeremy
Logged
If you drop your keys in molten lava, forget them; because, man, there gone!


MSI K9A2 Platinum
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6400+
4GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2 800
Diamond ATI HD3870
SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtremegamer
2x1TB, 1x500GB, 1x320GB, 1x250GB, 1x150GB Western Digital SATA
Coolermaster 1200W PSU +3.3V@30A,+5V@30A,+12V1@20A,+12V2@20A,+12V3@25A,+12V4@25A
ThermalTake Armor 8000 Full Tower
Samsung SyncMaster 940BX 19" LCD 1280x1024
Hanns-G HG281D 28" Widescreen LCD 1920X1200
Pages: [1]   Go Up