Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2  (Read 2947 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

shareef59

  • Guest
K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
« on: 12-June-05, 01:23:59 »

Hiya
Sorry if this is a dumb question, but this is my first build and first post to this forum!

I cannot figure out which cable (wire) connects to which pin at JFP1. I need to know which way the pins needs to be connected.
ie HDD Led (pin1/pin3), which color goes where? (pin1: white  / pin3: red) etc

The colors I have from the case is as follows:
Power Led:      white/green
Power Switch:  white/orange
Reset Switch:   white/blue
HDD Led:         white/red
Speaker:          red/black

The CPU is positioned correctly, the 4pin power attached. Monitor connected to onboard video. When I turn on the power, the monitor does not respond, the CPU fan works fine. The front LEDs (greeen and red) is on and steady, no activity.

Hope someone can help me out...
Thanks in advance.

-Shareef
Logged

Stu

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19582
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
« Reply #1 on: 12-June-05, 03:39:55 »
  • Best Answer

  • for the switches it doesn't matter which way round they go

    the coloured wire is always the (+) connection on the LEDs. try them one way round, if they don't come on, then turn around, they won't get harmed

    note that your case PWR LED connects to the connector on JFP2 not JFP1. you may need to gently cut it in half if it only fits in a two pin connector




    [ ERROR: SPECIFIED ATTACHMENT MISSING ]
    Logged
    Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

    shareef59

    • Guest
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #2 on: 13-June-05, 07:20:06 »

    Thank you much for your reply, it was very helpful! But, I still seem to have a problem.
    The monitor does not work, keep saying to activate via pc. The monitor is in working order. I tried using a video card instead of the onboard video connection and still the same result.
    There is no error beeps, just the "green" LED comes on, on startup, the CPU fan is working and as I said nothing from the monitor! Any suggestions would be very welcome!
    Thanks in advance.

    -Shareef
    Logged

    Stu

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 19582
    • Birmingham, UK
      • StuOnline.co.uk
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #3 on: 13-June-05, 07:28:37 »
  • Best Answer

  • shareef, now is the time to tell us more about your system details and PSU specs to save us all guessing....

    Logged
    Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

    shareef59

    • Guest
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #4 on: 13-June-05, 07:39:47 »

    I am sorry, I should have mentioned the details in the begining !

    MEMORY
    Corrsair ValueSelect 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 400 (PC 3200) Dual Channel Kit System Memory - Retail.

    PSU
    Antec 300w ATX12v (v1.3)

    Seagate Harddrive (new) & Plextor CD-ROM.
    Logged

    Stu

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 19582
    • Birmingham, UK
      • StuOnline.co.uk
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #5 on: 13-June-05, 07:52:47 »
  • Best Answer

  • for starters that Corsiar ValueSelect stuff will probably give you problems in future, so consider replacing that at some point
    *edit* actually scratch that, i don't think this board supports dual channel mode anyway, so that may not be a problem :bonk:


    Quote
    PSU
    Antec 300w ATX12v (v1.3)

    Is your problem caused by your PSU? can you please post your PSU specs as detailed in my sticky? 300w sounds a bit low, so the amps might not be enough here to start everything...

    Logged
    Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

    shareef59

    • Guest
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #6 on: 13-June-05, 08:16:52 »

    The PSU Details:

    ANTEC
    Brand Antec
    Model SL300S
    SPEC
    Type ATX
    Maximum Power 300W
    Fans 1
    PFC No
    Dual +12V No
    Power Good Signal 100-500ms
    Hold-up Time 17ms min.
    Efficiency > 68%
    Over Voltage Protection YES
    Overload Protection YES
    Input Voltage 115/230 V
    Input Frequency Range 47 - 63Hz
    Input Current 8A @ 115V, 4A @ 230V
    Output +3.3V@20A;+5V@30A;-5V@0.5A;+12V@15A;-12V@0.5A;+5VSB@2A
    MTBF >50,000 Hours
    Approvals UL, TUV, CB, FCC CLASS B, NEMKO

    The mobo is suppose to support dual channel or atleast thats whats said in the product description.

    Many thanks for your trouble, greatly appreciated!

    -Shareef
    Logged

    osnavi

    • GENERAL
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 6127
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #7 on: 13-June-05, 11:15:52 »
  • Best Answer

  • "...12V@15A..." This could be the reason. Try a better P.S. with 18A. or more to 12v. rail. Also 20A. to 3.3v. rail is poor. What CPU is installed ?
    Logged
    MSI KT3 Ultra 2 ARU
    Athlon XP 2800+Thermaltake Heatsink fan
    2x 512 Mb DDR PC 2700 Spect 
    MSI FX 5900XT 128 Mb
    SBlaster Audigy Platinum
    HDD 0 Maxtor80Gb HDD1 Maxtor120Gb both Ata 133-7200 RPM
    USB 2.0 HDD 80 Gb.
    MSI CDR 52x
    Aopen CDRW 48x12x50x
    Pinnacle DV500 VidEditor
    Thermaltake 420W 3.3v.-30A 5v.-40 A 12v-18A
    USB 1.1 Memory Stick Card Reader
    Floppy Drive 
    PS2 & USBMouse
    WXP SP1

    shareef59

    • Guest
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #8 on: 13-June-05, 12:18:30 »

    CPU DETAILS:
    AMD Athlon XP 2500+ Barton 333MHz FSB 512KB L2 Cache Socket A Processor

    The local store that I bought the Antec 300w, also has the Antec 400w, which is as follows:

    +3.3V@28A; +5V@38A; -5V@0.5A; +12V@18A; -12V@0.8A; +5VSB@2A

    Thanks in advance..

    -Shareef
    « Last Edit: 13-June-05, 12:24:20 by shareef59 »
    Logged

    shareef59

    • Guest
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #9 on: 14-June-05, 00:24:19 »

    "...12V@15A..." This could be the reason. Try a better P.S. with 18A. or more to 12v. rail. Also 20A. to 3.3v. rail is poor. What CPU is installed ?

    Well, I went for overkill and got a Antec 500w PSU
    +3.3V@32A, +5V@35A, +12V1@17A, +12V2@19A, -12V@0.3A, +5VSB@2A

    But my issues are still the same, the PC starts up, CD-ROM works, CPU Fan works, but no joy with the Monitor. Tried both onboard Video and a working Video card.

     :wall:

    Any further suggestions or comments will be greatly appreciated!

    -Shareef
    « Last Edit: 14-June-05, 00:26:15 by shareef59 »
    Logged

    Fredrik

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 16126
    • There's always a risk.
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #10 on: 14-June-05, 05:28:00 »
  • Best Answer

  • All fans start up? Is the 4 pin 12 volt connection in place? It hangs from the PSU and looks like this in the end   : :

    Have only one stick in, for a try. As this is the first time, I would have as little as possible in the system. Makes troubleshooting easier.

    Behind the mobo there are stand-offs, to prevent the mobo from touching the case side. There wouldn't be any unused left, shortening the graphics card.
    Logged

    Stu

    • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 19582
    • Birmingham, UK
      • StuOnline.co.uk
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #11 on: 14-June-05, 07:14:47 »
  • Best Answer

  • Quote
    for starters that Corsiar ValueSelect stuff will probably give you problems in future, so consider replacing that at some point

    :think:

    Logged
    Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

    Grayone

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • LIEUTENANT GENERAL
    • ****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 4098
    Re: K7N2GM-V Front Panel Connectors JFP1/JFP2
    « Reply #12 on: 14-June-05, 09:27:25 »
  • Best Answer

  • Shut if off, remove the video card and one stick of memory.  Then try clearing the cmos with the ac cord disconnected and see if it will start up at default settings.
    Logged
    DKA790GX Platinum w/Phenom II 960T unlocked to 6 cores
    4 gig GSkill DDR2 800 @5-5-5-15-2T
    N460GTX & N450GTS
    Corsair 650TX  12v-52 amps
    Windows XP-SP3

    G31-M7 w/Q9400 @3.28GHz @1.312v
    2Gb DDR2 800 @5-6-6-15-2T
    GTX460 Hawk video card
    Seasonic 520 Watt S-12 12v-40amps
    Windows XP-SP3 - Folding 24/7
     
    Pages: [1]   Go Up