Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems  (Read 2185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Wladislaw

  • Guest
K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
« on: 18-August-05, 12:22:41 »

I received my motherboard yesterday, and have since installed it in my computer.  My ram was very old, so I bought one stick of 512MB PNY DDR333.  When I try to power it up, nothing appears on the monitor and it beeps.  The Basic Troubleshooting guide on the website says that my memory is either set wrong, or incompatible, which I think it is neither. Could someone please tell me what the problem is?
Logged

hansh

  • MAJOR
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1483
Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
« Reply #1 on: 18-August-05, 12:39:07 »
  • Best Answer

  • Full specs please ... including those of the Power Supply Unit (PSU)  ;-))
    Logged
    Lian Li 65 with Papst Fans / Zalman Reserator 1 Plus Water Cooling / Enermax Modu82+ 625W / Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P / 2*2GB OCZ3P1600LVAM2G / PhenomII X6 1090T BE /  Intel Postville X25-M SSD 160GB / Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB  / Shuttle CR40 / Sony NEC Optiarc AD-7203S / XFX HD5750 1GB watercooled / Philips 202P70 22" / Auzentech X-Fi Prelude / Concept E Magnum Power Edition / Logitech G15 / BIOS F8H / Windows 7 Ultimate 64

    Wladislaw

    • Guest
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #2 on: 18-August-05, 12:46:25 »

    MSI K8N Neo2 Motherboard
    AMD 64 3000+
    512MB PNY DDR333
    80GB Maxtor H.D.D.
    ULTRA 500W X-Connect PWS
    GeForce FX 5500 128MB
    Logged

    JayBee

    • MAJOR
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 999
    • Space
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #3 on: 18-August-05, 13:30:36 »
  • Best Answer

  • Try putting it in a different slot, first using the one closest to the cpu.  Try an other stick of memory (but not your old one if it is not DDR).  Good luck.
    Logged
    K8N Neo2 Plat. (MSI-7025) - WinXP Pro SP2
    Athlon 64 Manchester X2 3800+
    2x OCZ4001024ELDCPE-K
    PNY NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
    CoolerMaster Hyper 6+ CPU Cooler - Antec P160 case - Belkin KVM switch
    Plextor DVDR PX-716A
    PATA Maxtor 6L100P0 & SATA Western Digital 1600JD-40HBC0
    AWARD BIOS V1.CB3 EasyBIOS3 (R.2) BY SYAR
    OCZ 420ADJ - 28A(3.3v); 30A(5v); 30A(12v)
    (Machine #2)

    Wladislaw

    • Guest
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #4 on: 18-August-05, 13:42:54 »

    I have already tried every single slot, and I'm not sure if I can procure another stick of ram.
    Logged

    TheBigMan

    • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
    • MAJOR
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 801
    • Go team go
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #5 on: 18-August-05, 13:50:47 »
  • Best Answer

  • Why did you buy DDR333 and not 400?? That is probably your problem as the motherboard comes with the memory index at 200 and your memory works at 166, so it would be better for you to buy a pair of memory sticks of DDR400 to gain also Dual Channel capability.

    Be well.... :biggthumbsup:
    Logged
    These are my two bits......Oh and BTW this is a USER to USER forum so no MSI Staff here...

    TheBigMan

    Get CPU-Z Utility   Get UBCD Diag.Utils   Get Memtest86+ Mem.Diag.

    JayBee

    • MAJOR
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 999
    • Space
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #6 on: 18-August-05, 13:56:30 »
  • Best Answer

  • REset CMOS.  Follow the instructions in the user manual, being careful to disconnect the power supply from the outlet and wait a few minutes before you open your computer and move the jumper on motherboard JBAT1 for a minute, and remembering to replace the jumper to its original position before you reconnect the power supply.

    If it boots, hit "del" and enter bios, select failsafe defaults and F10 to save changes.

    If you have installed a "D Bracket" with four lights, what do the lights say and what does the manual say those lights mean?
    Logged
    K8N Neo2 Plat. (MSI-7025) - WinXP Pro SP2
    Athlon 64 Manchester X2 3800+
    2x OCZ4001024ELDCPE-K
    PNY NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
    CoolerMaster Hyper 6+ CPU Cooler - Antec P160 case - Belkin KVM switch
    Plextor DVDR PX-716A
    PATA Maxtor 6L100P0 & SATA Western Digital 1600JD-40HBC0
    AWARD BIOS V1.CB3 EasyBIOS3 (R.2) BY SYAR
    OCZ 420ADJ - 28A(3.3v); 30A(5v); 30A(12v)
    (Machine #2)

    SAB

    • AM2 Pioneer
    • GENERAL
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 5529
    • The streets are fields, that never die.
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #7 on: 18-August-05, 17:48:13 »
  • Best Answer

  • I'm not too sure about the PNY memory...as I don't recall seeing it on any compatability list...I could be wrong. I would try a matched pair of relatively inexpensive RAM...like Kingston's KVR400X64C2.5/512..... :-))
    Logged
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z
    AMD FX-8350
    G.Skill DDR3 ~ 16GB
    Western Digital 2 ~ 150GB Raptors
    ASUS 52X CD/RW
    ASUS CD/DVD/RW
    ASUS 2 ~ GTX770
    Logitech Z-560 4.1 Spkr. Sys.
    Logitech MX Pro Laser Mouse
    Windows7 Ultimate X64 Edition
    Linksys WMP55AG 811A/G Wireless Adapter
    Thermaltake 1050W PSU

    Wladislaw

    • Guest
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #8 on: 19-August-05, 03:52:04 »

    JayBee,
    your solution worked, thank you.
    But, now I have another problem.  It says that my harddrive may have a problem, and then goes to a blue screen of death.
    Any suggestions?
    Logged

    JayBee

    • MAJOR
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 999
    • Space
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #9 on: 19-August-05, 04:41:10 »
  • Best Answer

  • Did you install windows xp for your new motherboard on that harddrive?
    Logged
    K8N Neo2 Plat. (MSI-7025) - WinXP Pro SP2
    Athlon 64 Manchester X2 3800+
    2x OCZ4001024ELDCPE-K
    PNY NVIDIA GeForce 6600 GT
    CoolerMaster Hyper 6+ CPU Cooler - Antec P160 case - Belkin KVM switch
    Plextor DVDR PX-716A
    PATA Maxtor 6L100P0 & SATA Western Digital 1600JD-40HBC0
    AWARD BIOS V1.CB3 EasyBIOS3 (R.2) BY SYAR
    OCZ 420ADJ - 28A(3.3v); 30A(5v); 30A(12v)
    (Machine #2)

    klickitatdave

    • Guest
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #10 on: 19-August-05, 04:41:58 »

    I received my motherboard yesterday, and have since installed it in my computer.  My ram was very old, so I bought one stick of 512MB PNY DDR333.  When I try to power it up, nothing appears on the monitor and it beeps.  The Basic Troubleshooting guide on the website says that my memory is either set wrong, or incompatible, which I think it is neither. Could someone please tell me what the problem is?

    I have the same board and I discovered that with this m.b. it is possible that the ram appears to be installed correctly and clipped down when in fact it is not. Might not be the problem in your case but it might be worth a look.
    Logged

    syar2003

    • GENERAL
    • *****
    • Offline Offline
    • Posts: 5641
    Re: K8N Neo2 Startup Problems
    « Reply #11 on: 19-August-05, 07:34:30 »
  • Best Answer

  • Loading failsafe defaults is disabling certain things you might need for your harddrive such as LBA block mode , DMA , busmastering .
    In BIOS load optimized defaults and F10 + yes .

    Logged
    Hardware signature
    -Nothing special-
    Pages: [1]   Go Up