Close

Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mega 865PRO - Things to know before building...  (Read 3744 times)

StuTopic starter

• GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Mega 865PRO - Things to know before building...
« on: 07-October-05, 19:00:37 »

Hello there! :laugh:

Following on from the success of the previous stickies on the Mega 180, 651 and 865, we present to you a new sticky on the most recent addition to the MSI Mega PC range: the 865PRO.

Unfortunately, I have no first-hand experience of using one of these, and as no-one else has bravely stepped forward to do the honours, I think we have enough already for me to start a sticky FAQ anyway.

If you have any valuable info that needs to be shared with other Mega 865PRO users, then please feel free to post in this thread, and at some point, I will integrate it into the main FAQ post.

If you want to ask a question, or need help, then start a new topic, please don't clutter this thread with useless or irrelevant posts. You will always get much better help by starting your own topic, and it keeps this thread useful.

InstantOn
Intervideo's InstantOn is a small Linux-based OS that allows fast booting to an environment where you can listen to music, radio, watch TV and DVDs, without booting up into Windows.

You must install InstantOn to a clean, unpartitioned drive. In other words, if you built your 865PRO with a brand new hard drive, you must install it before you install Windows.

We still don't have a definitive answer on what card the Mega 865PRO TV Tuner card is, but a look on Intervideo's website, tells us that the program supports TV cards based on the following chipsets:

• Conexant 2388x
  • Bt878
  • Philips SA713x

which to me appear to be most software-based analogue TV tuners out there. InstantOn does not support DVB-T cards, only analogue.