Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This is a User-to-User community forum run by MSI users for MSI users. If you need to contact MSI directly see: How to contact MSI

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?  (Read 1708 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

poopsy

  • Guest

i have a 1.5 athlonxp now and wonder if i can seriously use a 3000+ 333 mghtz? ..or should i use a 2600+ 266? I know what msi says from their support>>2600+ 266 is max  but can i use a 3000+ 333 and if i can what do i need to do to get it to work properly...i have pc2700 333 memory in their now too(3-512 sticks)  thanx
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49204
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #1 on: 07-May-06, 19:18:46 »

helo welcome to forum. look into your manual and find out maximum FSB support by your mobo. that will answer your quesion.

poopsy

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #2 on: 07-May-06, 20:19:16 »

thank you..i know its max from msi says 266  2600+  but it seems a 3000 or 2800+ will run 333 mhtz..if you change the bios setting to 166 ...but..i also wonder how much faster is a 2800 or 3000+ 333  then the 2600+ 266 chip?  anyone know?
Logged

poopsy

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #3 on: 07-May-06, 20:59:40 »

AMD ATHLON XP-2600+ PROCESSOR

SOCKET A, Pin-Grid-Array (PGA).

2.13 GHZ, @ 266MHZ FSB

128KB L1 and 256KB (on chip) L2 Cache

3DNow! Professional Technology (72 instructions, full SSE compatibility)

VS

ATHLON XP 2800+ SOCKET A (266Mhz BUS) WITH QUANTISPEED ARCHITECTURE OPERATING AT 2.083GHZ OEM VERSION


VS


ATHLON XP 3000+ SOCKET A (333Mhz BUS) 512K CACHE WITH QUANTISPEED ARCHITECTURE OPERATING AT 2.16GHZ OEM VERSION PULLS
(Purchase a fan to extend the warranty from 30 days to 1 year)  AMDXP3000333OEM



IT WOULD SEEM THE XP2600+ 266 IS FASTER THEN THE 3000+ 333...IS THIS TRUE? THANK YOU
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Online Online
  • Posts: 49204
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #4 on: 07-May-06, 21:05:24 »

"IT WOULD SEEM THE XP2600+ 266 IS FASTER THEN THE 3000+ 333...IS THIS TRUE? THANK YOU"
nop. 3000+ at 166FSB(333) is the fastest one from thease 3 choices. Due to bigger FSB speed 166 vs 133 as other 2 CPUs and twice bigger Secondary level Cache (512KB) His code name is Barton.

Grayone

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4098
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #5 on: 07-May-06, 21:07:01 »

Is your motherboard a KT3 Ultra 2 or a KT3 Ultra?  The version 5.7 bios only works with the KT3 Ultra 2.
If it is an KT3 Ultra 2, then you can use an XP-3000 with 333fsb in it if you manually set the fsb speed to 166.  The difference in performance between the 2600 with 266fsb and the 3000 with 333fsb is noticable if you play games or do folding with your computer but I don't know what percentage it is.
Logged
DKA790GX Platinum w/Phenom II 960T unlocked to 6 cores
4 gig GSkill DDR2 800 @5-5-5-15-2T
N460GTX & N450GTS
Corsair 650TX  12v-52 amps
Windows XP-SP3

G31-M7 w/Q9400 @3.28GHz @1.312v
2Gb DDR2 800 @5-6-6-15-2T
GTX460 Hawk video card
Seasonic 520 Watt S-12 12v-40amps
Windows XP-SP3 - Folding 24/7
 

poopsy

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #6 on: 07-May-06, 21:53:32 »

i have the kt3 ultra..latest bios...my question is even on the 300+ 333 i have to redo the buss to 166..right...and the 2600+ 266  is the same meghrtz right? 2.13   ..so...whats the big diff then? thank you
Logged

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19578
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #7 on: 07-May-06, 21:59:03 »

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Front-side_bus

Quote
In complex image, audio, video, and scientific applications where the data set is large, FSB speed becomes a major performance issue. A slow FSB will cause the CPU to spend significant amounts of time waiting for data to arrive from system memory.

Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

poopsy

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #8 on: 07-May-06, 21:59:44 »

so a 2600+ 266 chip has less cache..ok(1/2 of 512)..and are you saying the fsb on that chip automatically adjusts to 133...whereas the 3000+ has a fsb of 333 but you have to go into the bios and put 166 in the buss setting?  so couldnt you set the fsb of the 2600+ 266  to 166 as well?  if so then the issue left is the 512 cache on the 3000+  vs the 256 cache on the 2600+..right? i am a bit confused..sorry...
Logged

Grayone

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4098
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #9 on: 07-May-06, 22:53:34 »

Your thoughts are going in the right direction but some other things need to be considered as well.
You might be able to overclock the 2600 to a fsb of 166.  This will cause the cpu to run hotter and will require an effecient cpu heatsink.  A jump in the vcore of the cpu may be necessary for it to reach a fsb of 166 and more heat will be generated.  This additional power must come from the power supply so that has to be checked to see if it is capable of providing the extra power.
Extra case cooling might also be needed to get rid of the extra heat so there are a lot of thing to consider before simply raising the fsb on a cpu.
What is the price difference between the two cpus?  Is it worth the extra work and possible cost?
You will still have only a 256 L2 cache once the cpu is overclocked so a higher fsb will be needed to offset the level 2 cache difference between a 2600 and a 3000.
Logged
DKA790GX Platinum w/Phenom II 960T unlocked to 6 cores
4 gig GSkill DDR2 800 @5-5-5-15-2T
N460GTX & N450GTS
Corsair 650TX  12v-52 amps
Windows XP-SP3

G31-M7 w/Q9400 @3.28GHz @1.312v
2Gb DDR2 800 @5-6-6-15-2T
GTX460 Hawk video card
Seasonic 520 Watt S-12 12v-40amps
Windows XP-SP3 - Folding 24/7
 

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #10 on: 07-May-06, 22:58:37 »

Been away a while, but I think the matter is automatic recognition. That is, even though the 3000 is at 133, the processor is correctly recognised when Ratio is set to Auto.

As said above, level 1 cache is a major thing. That is for example one of the reasons Athlons work so much better than Pentiums at equal MHz.

I'd advice against setting to 166 on this mobo, as that is a major overclock.

And Grayone is of course more thorough on this and other points.
Logged

Mr Wulf

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #11 on: 08-May-06, 10:22:23 »



Your mainboard will not accept 3000+ processor!  The bios version does support 3000+ processor but the mainboard does not!(Remember, you are using the same bios as for the kt3 ultra 2 mainboard) 
Please only use up to 2600+ processor.  The Barton processor is the same size and will fit into the socket(A) but is not compatible with your mainboard.

On the other hand, it sounds like you really want to try with 3000+ anyway.  So try it and post the results.
Logged

osnavi

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6127
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #12 on: 08-May-06, 16:41:41 »

Well, a lot has being said in this matter, so you could try searching related posts in the Forum. But as being told you, the problem is not only if Mobo will support 166 FSB, but also you need at least PC 2700 Memory, besides good cooling and perhaps a better P.S.U. It would be easer if we know your PC specs.
Logged
MSI KT3 Ultra 2 ARU
Athlon XP 2800+Thermaltake Heatsink fan
2x 512 Mb DDR PC 2700 Spect 
MSI FX 5900XT 128 Mb
SBlaster Audigy Platinum
HDD 0 Maxtor80Gb HDD1 Maxtor120Gb both Ata 133-7200 RPM
USB 2.0 HDD 80 Gb.
MSI CDR 52x
Aopen CDRW 48x12x50x
Pinnacle DV500 VidEditor
Thermaltake 420W 3.3v.-30A 5v.-40 A 12v-18A
USB 1.1 Memory Stick Card Reader
Floppy Drive 
PS2 & USBMouse
WXP SP1

poopsy

  • Guest
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #13 on: 08-May-06, 20:56:04 »

thanx...i have a 2800+ coming to try...i see the 2600+ 266 chip online..its fast at 2.17 gighrtz but the cache is only 256...is this really a huge deal?   maybe i should just use the reccomended chip then...i am confused..i have a huge psuply and cooling..so i am ok there....whats odd is the speed of the 2600+ chip is more then the 2800+ 333 chip but the 2800+ has a 512 cache..whereas the 2600+ has only 256 cache...hm...
Logged

Grayone

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4098
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #14 on: 08-May-06, 21:10:39 »

Yes, and the 2800 also has a front side bus speed of 333mhz where the 2600 has a 266mhz front side bus.  Data moves faster along a faster bus so the 2800 is actually a faster cpu than the 2600 because of the faster front side bus in addition to a larger L2 cache.  The 2600 has to run at a faster internal speed than it does now to equal the 2800's ability to process data.

An example: The slower Athlon 64 processors run at only 1.8 ghz, slower than the 2600's 2.13 but are able to process a lot more data due to their much faster front side bus speed.
 
Hope that this explaination helps to explain the relationship between processor internal speed and front side bus speed.
Logged
DKA790GX Platinum w/Phenom II 960T unlocked to 6 cores
4 gig GSkill DDR2 800 @5-5-5-15-2T
N460GTX & N450GTS
Corsair 650TX  12v-52 amps
Windows XP-SP3

G31-M7 w/Q9400 @3.28GHz @1.312v
2Gb DDR2 800 @5-6-6-15-2T
GTX460 Hawk video card
Seasonic 520 Watt S-12 12v-40amps
Windows XP-SP3 - Folding 24/7
 

Stu

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19578
  • Birmingham, UK
    • StuOnline.co.uk
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #15 on: 08-May-06, 21:52:24 »

AMD's "Performance Rating" is quite simple really; an XP2800+ is better than an XP2600+ ;-))

Logged
Former moderator and admin, 2004-2012

Fredrik

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 16126
  • There's always a risk.
Re: kt3 ultra bios 5.7//..what is fastest cpu i can use?
« Reply #16 on: 09-May-06, 01:56:41 »

A swap from 2600 to 2800 processor - for me - doesn't seem worth the effort, or the risk.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up