Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This is a User-to-User community forum run by MSI users for MSI users. If you need to contact MSI directly see: How to contact MSI

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???  (Read 4376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ramborobert

  • Guest
HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« on: 19-July-06, 23:31:57 »

Ive had a few problems with pc rebooting think it might be a power issue see post http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=98647.0 (Network reboot problems? ) its been happening sence my router broke and i got new one.

i have at minute a chieftec 420w psu

(+5 40A, +3.3 30A 220w) (+12v1 15A +12v2 18A 216w) (-5v 0.3A 1.5w) (-12v 0.8A 9.6w) (+5vsb 2a 10w)

with the spec ive left below can you tell me what kind of ampage do i need on the 12v rails and should i go for the standard 2 set rails or should i get the new 4 set rails tell me what i need on all rails please and recommend a psu. Im trying to keep costs low so i can get the mushkin ram  :-P).

msi k8n neo platinum
amd athlon 64 3400+
gigabyte 3d rocket cpu fan
chieftec 420w psu (+5 40A, +3.3 30A 220w) (+12v1 15A +12v2 18A 216w) (-5v 0.3A 1.5w) (-12v 0.8A 9.6w) (+5vsb 2a 10w)
2 x 512mb kingmax ddr 400 pc 3200 (soon to be mushkin 2 x 1gb ddr xp4000 extreme performance dual channel kit cas3)
2 x 200gb s-ata seagate 7200rpm
nvidia geforce 6800gt 256mb
samsun syncmaster 913n 19" tft
chieftec aluminium dragon (4 thermaltake fans)
campaq dvd 16x dvd reader drive
samsung dvd re-writer drive
onboard sound (thinkin of getting a soundblaster x-fi platinum)
philips 160w 5.1 surround sound
netgear dg834



Logged

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #1 on: 19-July-06, 23:35:20 »

ramborobert,

You could give a single RAIL PSU a shot. If you have at least 24A on the 12V RAIL it would eliminte the PSU as your problem.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #2 on: 19-July-06, 23:38:38 »

I could do but arnt they a little hard to get a hold of those ones now and i dont really have one i could try plus the problem doesnt happen everytime one day pc is fine nxt it will crash.  I think it happens most often on sof2.
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #3 on: 19-July-06, 23:44:12 »

Which country are you from? Where do you buy online?
Logged

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #4 on: 19-July-06, 23:45:44 »

im from northern ireland and i buy from www.overclockers.co.uk mainly also www.overclock.co.uk if you know cheaper place tell me post pls
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #5 on: 19-July-06, 23:49:57 »

Buy the Enermax EG465AX-VE(G)(FMA) 460W ATX1.3 Power Supply from http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Enermax_Power_Supplies.html

I bought for my other PC and it has 33A on the +12V rail. At £35.19 it's good value.
Logged

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #6 on: 19-July-06, 23:56:35 »

That sounds good to me is 33 amps enough on a single rail then my chieftec has 33A across its to rails but i know that thers a prob with two rails.
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #7 on: 20-July-06, 00:02:32 »

A single rail PSU is better than dual rail IMHO, as I think dual rail PSUs don't work as they should. Some reviews have shown them to be a bad choice.

33A on the one +12V is plenty though; more than your graphics card needs in fact. I suggested the Enermax, as it's down in price. It's up to you really. Bear in mind it doesn't have a PCI-E power connector for the graphics card, so you would have to use the connector you should have received with your card.
Logged

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #8 on: 20-July-06, 00:09:45 »

I want the psu to be kinda future proof to so if i decided to get new system in a yr or so i would be able to use it
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #9 on: 20-July-06, 00:25:28 »

It will work with future PCs; you will just have to use a connector to power the graphics card.

Take a look at some of the various PSUs on the OCUK web site and see which meet your needs - then check it has a single +12V rail on their web site.

Not sure what to suggest otherwise. :undecided:

EDIT: You could try the Tagan TG580-U22 580W ATX2.01 2Force SLi Compliant Silent PSU. See: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/Tagan_Power_Supplies.html
« Last Edit: 20-July-06, 00:28:49 by blazing storm »
Logged

kakarocht

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2395
  • Devil Jin
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #10 on: 20-July-06, 03:26:52 »

Also you could tried on OCZ powerstream 520W it also has 33A although it has dual rails but it can be changed to single rails. Gd luck.
Logged
How to flash BIOS!=>http://forum.msi.com.tw/index.php?topic=84865.msg606175#msg606175

Main Rig
AMD X2 3800 E4@2.5Ghz
GB K8N Sli B-F9
Zalman CNPS9700
KingstonVS 512*4 DDR400 @ 2.75V(3-3-3-8)@2T
2xMSI 7600GT 256MB@650Mhz/700Mhz
2*Pata WD 80GB(0)*2 SATA2 160GB
EN465 PSU
DVDRW,DVD-R LiteOn
ViewSonicWS 19"LCD
XFI-EM
CM 830 Case
XP Pro SP2
OC=280*10=2.8G@1.5V
RETIRED Rig
Athlon 3K+ Winnie Syar's Bios 1C
MSI Neo2 Plat
My 2rd Rig
Intel Q6600
P35 Chipset
CM Hyper48
4x1Gb KingstonVS 667Mhz
ATi 2600XT
Mushkin 550Watt
2xSATA2 80Gb,2x500GB WD
DVDRW/DVDROM Imation
LCD 17' DELL
envy24ht
Power Logic 5000 case
Vista Ultimate

TheBigMan

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Big Bang
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 801
  • Go team go
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #11 on: 20-July-06, 04:39:49 »

Also you could tried on OCZ powerstream 520W it also has 33A although it has dual rails but it can be changed to single rails. Gd luck.

That is not correct..... see here

Be well.... :biggthumbsup:
Logged
These are my two bits......Oh and BTW this is a USER to USER forum so no MSI Staff here...

TheBigMan

Get CPU-Z Utility   Get UBCD Diag.Utils   Get Memtest86+ Mem.Diag.

kakarocht

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2395
  • Devil Jin
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #12 on: 20-July-06, 05:01:58 »

Opps sorry gives wrong info. It's Modstream actually.520W. thanks
Logged
How to flash BIOS!=>http://forum.msi.com.tw/index.php?topic=84865.msg606175#msg606175

Main Rig
AMD X2 3800 E4@2.5Ghz
GB K8N Sli B-F9
Zalman CNPS9700
KingstonVS 512*4 DDR400 @ 2.75V(3-3-3-8)@2T
2xMSI 7600GT 256MB@650Mhz/700Mhz
2*Pata WD 80GB(0)*2 SATA2 160GB
EN465 PSU
DVDRW,DVD-R LiteOn
ViewSonicWS 19"LCD
XFI-EM
CM 830 Case
XP Pro SP2
OC=280*10=2.8G@1.5V
RETIRED Rig
Athlon 3K+ Winnie Syar's Bios 1C
MSI Neo2 Plat
My 2rd Rig
Intel Q6600
P35 Chipset
CM Hyper48
4x1Gb KingstonVS 667Mhz
ATi 2600XT
Mushkin 550Watt
2xSATA2 80Gb,2x500GB WD
DVDRW/DVDROM Imation
LCD 17' DELL
envy24ht
Power Logic 5000 case
Vista Ultimate

Stick

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2393
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #13 on: 20-July-06, 09:56:16 »

That sounds good to me is 33 amps enough on a single rail then my chieftec has 33A across its to rails but i know that thers a prob with two rails.

the chieftec actually only has 18A total on the 12V rails. there is a very easy way to calculate this:
12V1 - 15A (12x15=180W)
12V2 - 18A (12x18=216W)
if you would be able to add them, you should have 180+216=396W on the 12V line.
but you only have a total of 216W for the 12V, which coresponds to 18A total.
i hope you got the point.
Logged
A64 3000+ Winchester Sk939 CBBID 0451 (289.11x9 - 2601.95 MHz - stock cooling, 46C full load, using clockgen)
http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=25523
MSI K8N SLI PLatinum
Asus Extreme N6600GT/TD/128M(@600/1300) - replaced with HIS ATI HD 4560
2x512 Geil Ultra (2-2-2-5)
2x160GB WD IDE
DVD-RW LG4160B
Philips 170S5 LCD, Liteon 19"CRT
Logitech X-530
SBLive 24bits 7.1 onboard
Thermaltake Purepower 480W

Fujitsu Siemens Amilo M3438G, Pentium M 760 (2.0 GHz), 2 x 1GB Kingston DDR2 533 MHz, 2 x 100 GB Fujitsu S-ATA 5400 rpm - RAID-0, GeForce Go 6800 - 3850 3dmark05, 17"
Acer Aspire 7730G, Core2Duo T9800 (2.8 Ghz), 2 x 2 GB Hynix DDR2 800 MHz, 2 x Seagate S-ATA 7200 rpm, GeForce 9600M GT, 17"

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #14 on: 20-July-06, 11:08:21 »

Buy the mentioned Enermax. It's a very good and quiet power supply. Enermax even revised it: there is now a 8-pin CPU connector coming with it and there's also 24/20 pin ATX connector on it. (Before, there was only 4 pin CPU connector and 20 pin ATX connector). This PSU will give you no trouble at all. There's a 3 years waranty on it, so you'll be just fine!
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #15 on: 20-July-06, 15:40:11 »

ramborobert,

I just wanted you to try one out for testing purposes. I did not expect you to buy on. Only if it solved the problem.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #16 on: 20-July-06, 18:16:59 »

can u suggest one i should buy please richard i was thinking myself of this one Enermax Liberty 500W ELT500AWT ATX2.2 Modular SLI Compliant PSU it has 22A on rail one and two but its £70 tho but if its wat i need ill get it
Logged

Richard

  • nForce & GeForce Guru
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 14483
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #17 on: 20-July-06, 20:13:00 »

ramborobert,

I do not want to recommend a PSU until we know that your PSU is your problem. Once we have that info then we could look at replacement PSUs.

I wanted a single RAIL 12V PSU to see if extra juice on that RAIL solved the problem.

Take Care,

Richard
Logged
Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.


LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
Athlon64 3700+ Sandy
(o/c'd 2.8Ghz)
Zalman CNPS9500LED
2-1Gb Mushkin Extreme PC-4000 (Slots 2 & 4)
(o/c'd 510Mhz)
2 x MSI NX6800GT-T2D256 (o/c'd Stock)
X-Mystique 7.1 GOLD - Dolby Digital Live
2-WD Raptors Raid 0
(16k Stripe)
NEC 16 Dual Layer DVD+/-RW
Logitech Z-680 500W Dolby Digital DTS THX 5.1
Logitech MX1000 Laser Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Keyboard

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #18 on: 21-July-06, 18:25:07 »

I turned off the automatic reboot option and it seems just to be blue screening at minute and not freezing the error is Machine_Check_Exception and it says sumthin bout memory dump complete

Any ideas
Logged

Rossoevo

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • If it ain't broke don't fix it !
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #19 on: 21-July-06, 23:26:23 »

Been looking at this Enermax EG465AX-VE(G)(FMA) 460W psu for some time now,can anyone confirm that a 24pin ATX
& A 4/8 pin cpu connectors are now fitted.
Buy the mentioned Enermax. It's a very good and quiet power supply. Enermax even revised it: there is now a 8-pin CPU connector coming with it and there's also 24/20 pin ATX connector on it. (Before, there was only 4 pin CPU connector and 20 pin ATX connector). This PSU will give you no trouble at all. There's a 3 years waranty on it, so you'll be just fine!
I have checked the Enermax site but cant find any confirmation of this.
Logged
Main PC
P7N Diamond bios v1.2
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
2x1gb OCZ PC6400
2xEvga 8800GTS 512mb
2xSeagate 320gb 7200.10
Samsung DVD-ROM
Corsair TX750
CM Stacker 810
XP Pro/SP3

HTPC
K8N Diamond Plus.bios v 1.0
Opteron 170
Thermalright XP120/Nexus 120
2x1gb G.Skill ZX 3200
ATI HD 2600 Pro
Samsung Spinpoint 80gb SataII
Samsung Spinpoint 500gb Sata II
Samsung DVD ROM
Corsair HX520
Silverstone LC20
XP Pro/SP3

Rig 3
DFI LP NF4 SLI-Expert
Opteron 170
Thermalright SI-128
2x1gb G.Skill HZ
2xMsi 7900GTO
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Sata II
Samsung 16x48 DVD ROM
Silverstone Zeus ST56ZF
+3.3v@38a+5v@40a+12v@38a
CM Wavemaster (modded)
XP Pro/SP3

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #20 on: 21-July-06, 23:31:08 »

Been looking at this Enermax EG465AX-VE(G)(FMA) 460W psu for some time now,can anyone confirm that a 24pin ATX
& A 4/8 pin cpu connectors are now fitted.I have checked the Enermax site but cant find any confirmation of this.

yes PSU have 4 pin for CPU and comes also with 8pin convertor cable(from 4pin to 8pin for CPU)

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #21 on: 21-July-06, 23:40:51 »

I bought that PSU for my other system, as stated earlier, but mine didn't have a 20 - 24 pin connector in the box. I told OCUK I didn't receive one so they sent an Akasa converter quickly after.
« Last Edit: 21-July-06, 23:43:17 by blazing storm »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #22 on: 21-July-06, 23:46:44 »

I bought that PSU for my other system, as stated earlier, but mine didn't have a 20 - 24 pin connector in the box. I told OCUK I didn't receive one so they sent an Akasa converter quickly after.
" but mine didn't have a 20 - 24 pin connector in the box"
well that is intergated to the PSU 20pin and 4pin(extra) but 4pin can be added to 20pin and will make it 24pin connector. its not external connector or convertor.

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #23 on: 21-July-06, 23:51:28 »

If you mean:




I didn't get that; it's just 20 pin.

EDIT: Didn't get 4 - 8 pin CPU power connector either.

Not even like this:

« Last Edit: 21-July-06, 23:53:50 by blazing storm »
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #24 on: 21-July-06, 23:53:53 »

yep i mean the same. my PSU have it. and strange how you dont have it? and also strange how(or what maybe more correct)  do they will send you?

syar2003

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5641
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #25 on: 21-July-06, 23:54:45 »

Using 20 -> 24 adapters isn't always a good idea if you run a heavily loaded system.
You may end up with burned pins and system failure.




Logged
Hardware signature
-Nothing special-

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #26 on: 21-July-06, 23:57:33 »

It has the mentioned new copper shielding and SATA power features. It doesn't say it comes with a 4 - 8 pin converter, but did mention the 20 - 24 pin converter on the website, so I chased just the one.

In the manual that came with the PSU it doesn't list a power converter though.
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #27 on: 22-July-06, 00:00:17 »

Using 20 -> 24 adapters isn't always a good idea if you run a heavily loaded system.
You may end up with burned pins and system failure.

I don't use the converter as my AN7 doesn't need one. I just wanted what I paid for.

A 20 pin connector works on the Neo 4 though, so I guess the converter isn't really needed.
Logged

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #28 on: 22-July-06, 00:02:56 »

yes CPU convertor cable is not listed but comes with the PSU.(4to 8pin cable), have it also and using.

Rossoevo

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • If it ain't broke don't fix it !
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #29 on: 22-July-06, 00:05:16 »

Thanks for the replies guys

Yeah its difficult to establish exactly what is now fitted,all I need is a native 24 pin atx(20+4 would be better than an adaptor) & a 4 pin cpu connector.

33a single rail psu for £35.00 is almost to good to be true so just making sure.

Logged
Main PC
P7N Diamond bios v1.2
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
2x1gb OCZ PC6400
2xEvga 8800GTS 512mb
2xSeagate 320gb 7200.10
Samsung DVD-ROM
Corsair TX750
CM Stacker 810
XP Pro/SP3

HTPC
K8N Diamond Plus.bios v 1.0
Opteron 170
Thermalright XP120/Nexus 120
2x1gb G.Skill ZX 3200
ATI HD 2600 Pro
Samsung Spinpoint 80gb SataII
Samsung Spinpoint 500gb Sata II
Samsung DVD ROM
Corsair HX520
Silverstone LC20
XP Pro/SP3

Rig 3
DFI LP NF4 SLI-Expert
Opteron 170
Thermalright SI-128
2x1gb G.Skill HZ
2xMsi 7900GTO
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Sata II
Samsung 16x48 DVD ROM
Silverstone Zeus ST56ZF
+3.3v@38a+5v@40a+12v@38a
CM Wavemaster (modded)
XP Pro/SP3

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #30 on: 22-July-06, 00:09:01 »

Thanks for the replies guys

Yeah its difficult to establish exactly what is now fitted,all I need is a native 24 pin atx(20+4 would be better than an adaptor) & a 4 pin cpu connector.

33a single rail psu for £35.00 is almost to good to be true so just making sure.


that psu have it "(20+4 would be better than an adaptor)" - yep its the same.
"4 pin cpu connector" yep have 4pin connector and also 4pin to 8 pin convertor for CPU
also come with PCI-E cable.
and with two nice stickers  :lol_anim:
and with one nice necklace for cellphones

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #31 on: 22-July-06, 00:11:21 »

Well that's annoyed me. >:( Didn't get a PCI-E cable either. I got the sticker though. :lol_anim:

Is the 4 to 8 pin like this:

Logged

Rossoevo

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • If it ain't broke don't fix it !
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #32 on: 22-July-06, 00:16:04 »

It makes you wonder if the US spec is different to the UK spec
Logged
Main PC
P7N Diamond bios v1.2
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
2x1gb OCZ PC6400
2xEvga 8800GTS 512mb
2xSeagate 320gb 7200.10
Samsung DVD-ROM
Corsair TX750
CM Stacker 810
XP Pro/SP3

HTPC
K8N Diamond Plus.bios v 1.0
Opteron 170
Thermalright XP120/Nexus 120
2x1gb G.Skill ZX 3200
ATI HD 2600 Pro
Samsung Spinpoint 80gb SataII
Samsung Spinpoint 500gb Sata II
Samsung DVD ROM
Corsair HX520
Silverstone LC20
XP Pro/SP3

Rig 3
DFI LP NF4 SLI-Expert
Opteron 170
Thermalright SI-128
2x1gb G.Skill HZ
2xMsi 7900GTO
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Sata II
Samsung 16x48 DVD ROM
Silverstone Zeus ST56ZF
+3.3v@38a+5v@40a+12v@38a
CM Wavemaster (modded)
XP Pro/SP3

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #33 on: 22-July-06, 00:16:12 »

Well that's annoyed me. >:( Didn't get a PCI-E cable either. I got the sticker though. :lol_anim:

Is the 4 to 8 pin like this:


nope not this its an cable from one side has 4pin (to connect to existing 4pin cable from the PSU) and with other side to the cable exit 8pin cable to the mobo. will try to search picture to paste.
" Didn't get a PCI-E cable either. I got the sticker though."
what about necklace then?

syar2003

  • HydroGen
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 5641
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #34 on: 22-July-06, 00:16:22 »

20 +4 attachable is the same as 'native 24pin'.
Where people fool themselves is to use a "pin doubler" from a PSUs 20pin connector to make a 24pin
then use a heavily loaded syetem with a power hungry pci-e card like ATI x1800/x1900 .
The motherboard 24 pin is there for a reason , and that is one added +12xv wire-line , one added +5v wire-line , one added 3.3v wire-line
and one ground .
This is due to the added load in newer PC systems and is to feed among other thinggs the pci-e power bus and not to
overload the PSU/mobo wiring , ref the picture above .

 
Logged
Hardware signature
-Nothing special-

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #35 on: 22-July-06, 00:31:06 »

It makes you wonder if the US spec is different to the UK spec
dunno its possible, but they are different models also:
    * Enermax EG465AX-VE-G-FC/FM
    * Enermax EG465AX-VE-G-FCA/FMA
    * Enermax EG465AX-VE-G-FMAX

bla i have the "same" PSU as picture below but mine comes with blue box(as you see different boxes black,green,orange mine is blue but cant find it over net) finnaly found it:





here somethink usefull also:

EG465P-VE (FM)
EG465P-VE FMA
EG465P-VE FCA
EG465AX-VE(G)
EG465AX-VE(W)
EG465AX-VE(G) FMA
EG465AX-VE(W) FMA
EG465AX-VE(G) FCA
EG465AX-VE(W) FCA

(G) = 230Volt
(W) = 110 ~ 230Volt (full range)
P = zonder PFC
AX = Actieve PFC
FM = Fan Speed monitoring
FMA = FMA function (Fan Speed monitored by M/B & Adjustable)
FCA = FCA function (Fan On/ Off Controlled by M/B & Adjustable), "sleeping mode
« Last Edit: 22-July-06, 00:38:51 by BOSSKILLER »
Logged

Rossoevo

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • If it ain't broke don't fix it !
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #36 on: 22-July-06, 00:54:45 »

It appears Blazing storm has this model EG465AX-VE(G)FMA ATX 1.3

Or at least this is the model at this retailer.

Will have to do some more searching to see if other models are available over here & if connector specs are different.

Thanks again for all the input.

Regards

Logged
Main PC
P7N Diamond bios v1.2
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
2x1gb OCZ PC6400
2xEvga 8800GTS 512mb
2xSeagate 320gb 7200.10
Samsung DVD-ROM
Corsair TX750
CM Stacker 810
XP Pro/SP3

HTPC
K8N Diamond Plus.bios v 1.0
Opteron 170
Thermalright XP120/Nexus 120
2x1gb G.Skill ZX 3200
ATI HD 2600 Pro
Samsung Spinpoint 80gb SataII
Samsung Spinpoint 500gb Sata II
Samsung DVD ROM
Corsair HX520
Silverstone LC20
XP Pro/SP3

Rig 3
DFI LP NF4 SLI-Expert
Opteron 170
Thermalright SI-128
2x1gb G.Skill HZ
2xMsi 7900GTO
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Sata II
Samsung 16x48 DVD ROM
Silverstone Zeus ST56ZF
+3.3v@38a+5v@40a+12v@38a
CM Wavemaster (modded)
XP Pro/SP3

Svet

  • T9246ED, Бивша комета
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 49163
    • MSI BIOS/EC-FW Mods
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #37 on: 22-July-06, 01:01:39 »

It appears Blazing storm has this model EG465AX-VE(G)FMA ATX 1.3

Or at least this is the model at this retailer.

Will have to do some more searching to see if other models are available over here & if connector specs are different.

Thanks again for all the input.

Regards


well mine is exacly the same EG465AX-VE(G)FMA ATX 1.3 and we have different between(missing 2 convertors,one sticker and necklace  :lol_anim: for now) (mine is in blue box above picture) dunno what is him.

Rossoevo

  • Afterburner
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 209
  • If it ain't broke don't fix it !
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #38 on: 22-July-06, 02:20:46 »

Logged
Main PC
P7N Diamond bios v1.2
Core 2 Quad Q6600
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
2x1gb OCZ PC6400
2xEvga 8800GTS 512mb
2xSeagate 320gb 7200.10
Samsung DVD-ROM
Corsair TX750
CM Stacker 810
XP Pro/SP3

HTPC
K8N Diamond Plus.bios v 1.0
Opteron 170
Thermalright XP120/Nexus 120
2x1gb G.Skill ZX 3200
ATI HD 2600 Pro
Samsung Spinpoint 80gb SataII
Samsung Spinpoint 500gb Sata II
Samsung DVD ROM
Corsair HX520
Silverstone LC20
XP Pro/SP3

Rig 3
DFI LP NF4 SLI-Expert
Opteron 170
Thermalright SI-128
2x1gb G.Skill HZ
2xMsi 7900GTO
Seagate 320gb 7200.10 Sata II
Samsung 16x48 DVD ROM
Silverstone Zeus ST56ZF
+3.3v@38a+5v@40a+12v@38a
CM Wavemaster (modded)
XP Pro/SP3

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #39 on: 22-July-06, 12:46:22 »

Mine came in the blue box.

well mine is exacly the same EG465AX-VE(G)FMA ATX 1.3 and we have different between(missing 2 convertors,one sticker and necklace  :lol_anim: for now) (mine is in blue box above picture) dunno what is him.

The extra sticker and necklace is a joke right? :rolleyes:

Looks like UK version is definately different to that of the US version. Strange. ???
Logged

ramborobert

  • Guest
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #40 on: 22-July-06, 13:11:16 »

can we get back to my problem please although thanks for all the info on that psu im thinkin of gettin but i think i would rather get a more up to date one.  Its really difficult for me to diagnose the psu as the problem as the computer crashes very randomly i played for 3 hours last nite few different games and no crashes.
Logged

Mark

  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4643
  • Former Moderator
Re: HOW MUCH POWER DO I REALLY NEED???
« Reply #41 on: 22-July-06, 14:37:24 »

Can you borrow a single rail PSU to test, as that would determine if the PSU is the problem.

Try with one stick of RAM and one hard drive.

EDIT: Also update your chipset drivers and install all available Window's updates.
« Last Edit: 22-July-06, 14:41:46 by blazing storm »
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up