Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Why not utilise your system's redundant processing power for a worthy cause, and join the MSI HQ Red Rockets Folding@Home team?

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed  (Read 1595 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

greenroom

  • Guest
Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« on: 14-August-06, 18:41:24 »

HUGE NEWB... Sorry to add more to the SATA questions but I can't figure out how to add my old IDE HDD to my new system that has a S-ATA HDD. The S-ATA is set up as a RAID an I have the IDE on it's own cable set as master. The Bios shows that it is there but when the system boots it will go fine until the end of the boot sequence where it looks like a blue screen then reboots very quickly. I looked up some previous threads but all of them seem to have different bios options than my own. System boots fine without the added IDE HDD

mobo= ms-7103
P4 2.93mhz
Seagate 160g S-ATA HDD
Maxtor 80g IDE HDD
IDE NEC DVD-RW
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #1 on: 15-August-06, 04:19:48 »

Have you try to set your Boot Priority to your SATA HDD as 1st Boot Drive?
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Maesus

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10522
  • in Penang, Malaysia
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #2 on: 15-August-06, 10:34:59 »

bluescreen? hmm... may I know what board is MS-7103? Which IDE port you plug into? IS it fine when you share the IDE HDD with the DVD together on the same cable?
Logged
Please read the ==>MOAN Guide<==
Maesus

My PC:
Now using : IBM Thinkpad T60p

Core 2 Duo recipe
E6600 2.66Ghz with GB Rocket Cooler Pro : MSI 975X Platinum PUE BIOS 7.6 : DDR2-667 2x1GB + DDR2-800 2x1GB : MSI 8800 Ultra : 80GB WD Caviar SE : Maxtor 250GB SATA : LiteOn LH-20A1S DVD writer + Samsung SH-W162C DVD writer : MSI Theater 550 Pro : LOGITECH Z-680 : DELL E228WFP 22" LCD : PowerLogic 500W PSU with +12V1&+12V2 @ 32A total

greenroom

  • Guest
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #3 on: 15-August-06, 20:48:36 »

As far as the priority goes I have:

cd/dvd
IDE 0
IDE 1

When I go to the normal bios settings I see that it says:
IDE Primary Master      = Maxtor (the Old IDE HDD)
IDE Primary Slave        = None
IDE Secondary Master  = NEC DVD RW
IDE Secondary Slave    =None

Floppy not Installed

I don't see the SATA but that might be normal I don't know
The SATA controller is enabled with RAID also Enabled

I tried to see what the blue screen says but It is too quick and I can't catch it with pause/break

I disconnected the DVD and used it's ribbon cable and it did the same thing, blue screen. The old HDD  was the boot drive on the old machine would that make a difference if it was still formatted  to be a bootable drive even if it was third in the boot sequence? The mobo is listed as ms-7103 on the board and the retail name is 661FM3-V
Thanks for the help thus far!
« Last Edit: 15-August-06, 21:14:29 by greenroom »
Logged

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #4 on: 15-August-06, 22:44:04 »

You have only a single SATA drive, so you cannot make any RAID. You need at least two SATA-disks to make a RAID-array. So, leave the SATA controller enabled, but don't set the other option to RAID. Set it to Single Drive, IDE or whatever you can choose from.
In case you can choose in what way to enable the SATA-controller (if there's only one thing to set), just set it to SATA, not RAID.

PS: Sorry for my bad explanation - I'm not familiar with the board and the way the bios looks ... but I hope you can manage. Just don't select RAID anywhere, okay?
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

greenroom

  • Guest
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #5 on: 15-August-06, 23:42:39 »

I disabled the RAID option and it still went to a blue screen and rebooted. I then disabled the old IDE HDD and tryed to boot but it would not. I then enabled the RAID again and booted fine with just the one SATA drive.
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #6 on: 16-August-06, 05:44:12 »

Can you test your old 80GB HDD in another system?
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

greenroom

  • Guest
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #7 on: 16-August-06, 06:17:51 »

The old 80g HDD came straight out of my old machine that was working fine it was just older and needed to be updated a bit so I scavenged the usable parts and am trying to put them into the new machine. But if there is a specific test that you want me to run. I guess I will try to disable the SATA HDD and try to boot from the IDE (or PATA if that is the right term.) I'll edit to tell how that worked.
Logged

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #8 on: 16-August-06, 07:44:01 »

When it was in your old machine and working doesn't means that failure cannot happens during the stage of transferring.

Please just take your old 80GB to another system and test to see if it is working normally. This will help narrow down the problem more.
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Hans

  • Official Q-Tec Alert Specialist // 正式Q技术机敏的专家
  • Xpower
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4243
  • If I fix it, it will never need fixing again!
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #9 on: 16-August-06, 23:20:16 »

greenroom, I hope you're not trying to make an old Windows setup work that's on the old IDE-drive? You cannot simply swap Windows form one machine to another. When you are loading Windows from the old HDD, the error you describe is understandable. You need to repair Windows or preferably make a complete new installation.
Logged
You have a Q-Tec Power Supply? Change that first and come back later...

* MSI P55-GD85, bios 1.3
* Intel Core i7 860 (stock @ 2.8GHz)
* 2x 2048MB TakeMS @ 1333MHz (8-8-8-24, 1T)
* Club3D HD5770 1024MB
* OCZ Vertex 2 120GB (OS and apps)
* 5x Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB in RaID5 (storage)
* 2x DVD Rewriter (LG, Optiarc)
* PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
* Cooler Master Stacker CM101
* Dell Ultrasharp 2209AW 22\\\" (e-IPS) monitor
* Windows 7 Professional NL

MSI MediaLive: AMD Athlon X2 4800+, 2x1GB Crucial PC-4200, Seagate 160GB, Pioneer DVD-burner, Hauppauge PWR150 TV Tunercard, Windows 7 Home Premium NL.

MSI X-Slim X620 :like: :like:

Backup: Thecus N5200Pro NAS

Maesus

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10522
  • in Penang, Malaysia
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #10 on: 17-August-06, 16:02:58 »

greenroom, goto Control Panel, System, Advanced, Startup and Recovery Settings -> at System Failure, uncheck "automatically restart". Then you'll have your bluescreen freeze, showing you all the important information. From there you can find clues of what's wrong. ;-) Let me know what's the Bluescreen stop code.
Logged
Please read the ==>MOAN Guide<==
Maesus

My PC:
Now using : IBM Thinkpad T60p

Core 2 Duo recipe
E6600 2.66Ghz with GB Rocket Cooler Pro : MSI 975X Platinum PUE BIOS 7.6 : DDR2-667 2x1GB + DDR2-800 2x1GB : MSI 8800 Ultra : 80GB WD Caviar SE : Maxtor 250GB SATA : LiteOn LH-20A1S DVD writer + Samsung SH-W162C DVD writer : MSI Theater 550 Pro : LOGITECH Z-680 : DELL E228WFP 22" LCD : PowerLogic 500W PSU with +12V1&+12V2 @ 32A total

greenroom

  • Guest
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #11 on: 20-August-06, 18:58:16 »

I have no way of checking to see whether the old IDE HDD is bad or not. The old system that I had got tossed. I did try to load from the old IDE to see if it would boot up on the new system and it did the same blue screen. But, normally I use the pre installed SATA drive with its Windows setup. I disabled the reboot on the advanced system pref. but it still reboots I don't know what that means but it is during the windows boot up sequence. Is there something I have to do within windows to get this going or do you think it is with the Bios? Thanks for the help thus far!
Logged

Maesus

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10522
  • in Penang, Malaysia
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #12 on: 21-August-06, 05:58:11 »

still reboot? hmm.... is this your system spec:
mobo= ms-7103
P4 2.93mhz
Seagate 160g S-ATA HDD
Maxtor 80g IDE HDD
IDE NEC DVD-RW

what is your power supply?
Logged
Please read the ==>MOAN Guide<==
Maesus

My PC:
Now using : IBM Thinkpad T60p

Core 2 Duo recipe
E6600 2.66Ghz with GB Rocket Cooler Pro : MSI 975X Platinum PUE BIOS 7.6 : DDR2-667 2x1GB + DDR2-800 2x1GB : MSI 8800 Ultra : 80GB WD Caviar SE : Maxtor 250GB SATA : LiteOn LH-20A1S DVD writer + Samsung SH-W162C DVD writer : MSI Theater 550 Pro : LOGITECH Z-680 : DELL E228WFP 22" LCD : PowerLogic 500W PSU with +12V1&+12V2 @ 32A total

NovJoe

  • Hawk
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19148
  • ~DeSTinY~ Destined 2 Be HeRe ^^
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #13 on: 21-August-06, 08:25:34 »

Are you able to tell us the error message that appears on the Blus Screen?
Logged
HTPC - DVI to HDMI to Panasonic 42" Plasma
Pentium 4 - 2.4GHz (B) on MSI 865PE Neo2
512MB x 2 Kingston @ 333MHz, 80GB Seagate
MSI NX6800Ultra, AcBel 560w PSU, WinXP Pro SP3

MSI Wind Love U100 Netbook - VGA to Sony Bravia LCD
Intel Atom 1.6GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP SP3

Acer Aspire 4741 - HDMI to Sharp 32" LCD
Core i5 M450 2.4GHz, 4GB RAM, 500GB HDD, Win 7 Hm Premium

HP Compaq V3136 - VGA to Sharp 32" LCD
C2D 1.66GHz, 2GB RAM, 80GB HDD, WinXP Media Centre SP3

Gigaworks S750, 7.1 THX Dolby Surround
Altec Lansing XA3501, 5.1 Gaming THX

MSI HQ Forum USB flasher

Maesus

  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10522
  • in Penang, Malaysia
Re: Adding IDE HDD to a new system with SATA Installed
« Reply #14 on: 21-August-06, 17:38:38 »

You may want to disable "auto-restart" for the bluescreen to stay on your screen.

Control Panel -> System -> Startup and Recovery : Settings -> uncheck "Automatically restart"
Logged
Please read the ==>MOAN Guide<==
Maesus

My PC:
Now using : IBM Thinkpad T60p

Core 2 Duo recipe
E6600 2.66Ghz with GB Rocket Cooler Pro : MSI 975X Platinum PUE BIOS 7.6 : DDR2-667 2x1GB + DDR2-800 2x1GB : MSI 8800 Ultra : 80GB WD Caviar SE : Maxtor 250GB SATA : LiteOn LH-20A1S DVD writer + Samsung SH-W162C DVD writer : MSI Theater 550 Pro : LOGITECH Z-680 : DELL E228WFP 22" LCD : PowerLogic 500W PSU with +12V1&+12V2 @ 32A total
Pages: [1]   Go Up