Please login or register.
Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse  (Read 3095 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

komradefox

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« on: 28-December-12, 03:14:02 »

Whenever I boot up or restart, the bios hangs at a "B4" error code. Some research shows that it's a USB error. Whenever I unplug the mouse, it starts fine. 

My BIOS version is 2.40

Any help would be appreciated.
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4671
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #1 on: 28-December-12, 03:27:49 »

yes B4 is a USB hotplug error!

do you have the mouse plugged into USB 2.0 or 3.0 ports?

are you using front pannel usb or rear I/O ones for the mouse?
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

komradefox

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #2 on: 28-December-12, 03:32:26 »

The mouse is plugged into a USB 2.0 slot (I haven't tried it in a 3.0 slot).

I am using the rear I/O ports. I have not tried using the front ports.

I have a Logitech G500 mouse
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4671
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #3 on: 28-December-12, 03:34:00 »

have you got another mouse to try?

if not try it in a usb 3.0 port to see if it does the same!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.

komradefox

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #4 on: 28-December-12, 03:36:44 »

Yeah, i have a  "Microsoft Basic Optical Mouse v2.0" that is USB. I've tried that mouse and it works fine (using the same port)

I'll try the 3.0 slots now.
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Power Edition
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8269
  • Salisbury MD
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #5 on: 28-December-12, 03:37:22 »

Also several release notes in the full release and beta bios of gaming mouse / keyboard compatibility fixes.

http://www.msi.com/product/mb/Z77A-G43.html#/?div=BIOS

or

>>Beta BIOSes<<

>>Use the MSI HQ Forum USB flasher<<
Logged

komradefox

  • Neo
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #6 on: 28-December-12, 03:41:51 »

Hmm, I see the release notes for fixing "gaming mice" but those improvements were made on Bios version 2.4 which is what i have.  I tried plugging into a USB 3.0 port and it booted without any error.

As long as it doesn't happen again, I'm fine with it.

Thanks for the suggestions!

Edit:  After some more testing (guessing), I plugged in my keyboard to the usb2.0 port that my mouse was plugged into, and plugged the mouse into the other usb2.0 slot where the keyboard was and it returned with no error. Not sure what specifically was happening.
« Last Edit: 28-December-12, 03:47:21 by komradefox »
Logged

badboy2k

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4671
Re: Z77A-G43 "B4" error code - Logitech G500 Mouse
« Reply #7 on: 28-December-12, 03:54:42 »

probably have 1 bad USB port then thats not liking your mouse and is causing this error! <--- see if that post has any visual differances to the other (dust or broken contacts or any other differances)!
Logged
OS: Windows7 professional SP1 64bit (OEM)
Motherboard: MSI 790FX-GD70 (bios 1.17) AM3
Processor:AMD phenom IIx4 955 black edition 3.2GHz processor(Clock speed of 4GHz)
Cooler: corsair H100 cooler
Ram: 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3 1600MHz ram (2 dual channel kits model: CMP8GX3M2A1600C9) (underclocked at 1333MHz)
GPU: 1: MSI R7870 -2GD5T/OC @ 1155mhz , 2: MSI R7850-Twin Frozer 2GD5/OC @ 925mhz
PSU: Thermaltake tougthpower 1500W (+12v1 20A, +12v2 20A, +12v3 40A, +12v4 40A) (+12v1=20+4 connector, +12v2=CPU power, +12v3=PCI_E connections, +12v4 = molex+sata+PCI_E connectors  )
Extras: 1 x 4 port raid card (model SIL3114) ASUS Xonar Essence STX sound card PCI-E X1.
Pages: [1]   Go Up