Register Now!

To Get More Info and Daily Reward.

Please login or register.
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: [SOLVED] motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 error code B2  (Read 13784 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

rastababy972

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
[SOLVED] motherboard MSI Z77A-GD65 error code B2
« on: 27-October-12, 23:35:05 »

hello,
 
I recently installed an MSI Z77A-GD65.
Here is my config:
 
- MSI Z77A-GD65
- I5 2500K + Noctua NH U12P-SE2
- KINGSTON Hyper X 1600 Mhz DDR3 4 x 2 GB
- 2 x SSD VERTEX 3 and 4
- POV GTX 660 Ultra Charged 2 go
- WD Caviar 500 GB
- Supply CORSAIR GAMING GS 600
- Case CM HAF932 advanced
 
I searched all the forums I have not found anything on my problem is the following.
at the first start (after installing the hardware) I got a black screen with the little bar at the top left flashing in the bottom right and "B2" then a black screen with the same small bar but not flashing. On my motherboard I have a set of code that runs and stops at B2. No BIOS.J 'tried everything:
- Move the graphics card
- Exchange up memories, play with the colors of slots, try with only 2 bar, try with 3 instead of 4 memories
- Disconnect the SSD and the HDD, change the connections at the plug SATA, try with HDD only
- Clear CMOS
- Start without devices connected (only with keyboard, mouse and screen)
- Check all my connections and CPU + Noctua
 
NOTHING .......................... I do not understand
Logged

xmad

  • MSI HQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8603
  • Salisbury MD
« Reply #1 on: 27-October-12, 23:50:04 »

Remove the vga and see if it will boot using onboard.

Install the ram into dimms 2 & 4 (Leave 1 & 3 empty for now)
Edit: After removing your vga card, you may need to clear the cmos.
Logged
Make sure to select a "best" answer once your issue has been resolved!
Mainboard: X79A-GD65 (8D)
CPU: I7-3930K
Setting: 4.5Ghz enhanced turbo w/ speed step functioning.
Memory: Corsair Dominator 2133 CL:9  1.5v 4x4gb
Setting: 2400 CL:10
VGA: 2 x GTX 780Ti Gaming 3G (SLI)
No Overclock other than default
PSU: Corsair AX1200i 12v: 100.1 Amps
SSD: Corsair GS 256GB
Corsair Link
Cooling: Corsair H100I

rastababy972

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #2 on: 28-October-12, 00:07:05 »

I tried and I get an error A0 or A2 but nothing on the screen (my screen turns off after a while because no signal)
Logged

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20650
  • 微星科技
    • MSI X99S XPOWER AC, The Overclocking Champion
« Reply #3 on: 28-October-12, 00:22:06 »

No signal with just onboard vga? That's bad. Stopping at B2 is graphics problem if that also happens with onboard something is wrong with the cpu. Reseat it and check socket for bent pins.
Logged
MSI X99A XPOWER AC (MS-7881) Bios A.1 
Core i7 5820K @ 4252.36 MHz (34 * 125.07 MHz), 1.199v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
16GB (4 x 4GB) Corsair CMK16GX4M4A2666C16B @ 1500.9 MHz (DDR4-3000), 18-20-20-40-2T 1.35v
GTX 980TI GAMING 6G
256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD + 128GB Samsung 830 SSD
Corsair RM1000 +12V: 83.30A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
HAF XB EVO case

Froggy Gremlin

  • GENERAL OF THE ARMY
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 11111
  • Master Air OC'er
« Reply #4 on: 28-October-12, 00:22:41 »

Reading A0, it is at the point of OS loading. A0 is not an error.

I tried and I get an error A0 or A2 but nothing on the screen (my screen turns off after a while because no signal)

Even when using the onboard graphics? :think:
Logged
The Last Hoorah! I Had Retired From All This! Can't Believe I'm Really Doing A Platform Test One More Time!  :shocked:

Z97 Gaming 7, 4790k, Zalman CNPS9900Max-R, Corsair AX-850, Corsair Dominator Platinum 2800's, WD 600 SATA III V.Raptor, Lite-On iHAS 424, GTX 680's In SLI, Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Champion, Win 7 Ultimate 64 Bit    

Life Can Be Very Fulfilling Without Win 8/8.1, SSD's (Exception: Testing PCI-E M.2), RAID, Current AMD GPU's, G.Skill RAM, Hackers, Crackers, & Crypto Mining!

IXOYE

flobelix

  • MSIHQ Red Rockets Team Member
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 20650
  • 微星科技
    • MSI X99S XPOWER AC, The Overclocking Champion
« Reply #5 on: 28-October-12, 00:35:40 »

Did you remove the GTX660 when using onboard or did you just switch to the onboard connector?
Logged
MSI X99A XPOWER AC (MS-7881) Bios A.1 
Core i7 5820K @ 4252.36 MHz (34 * 125.07 MHz), 1.199v
Corsair H110 Liquid CPU Cooler
16GB (4 x 4GB) Corsair CMK16GX4M4A2666C16B @ 1500.9 MHz (DDR4-3000), 18-20-20-40-2T 1.35v
GTX 980TI GAMING 6G
256GB Samsung 830 SSD + 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD + 128GB Samsung 830 SSD
Corsair RM1000 +12V: 83.30A • +3.3V: 25A • +5V: 25A
Windows 10 Pro
HAF XB EVO case

rastababy972

  • PRIVATE FIRST CLASS
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
« Reply #6 on: 28-October-12, 00:37:53 »

yes I removed the gtx
whether the integrated card or gtx I have the same problem. I also have a beep that repeats every 30 seconds
I disconnect and recheck all connections and their status
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up